Asia Cup gets a new lease of life, Bangladesh's bravado and other twitter reactions on India's thrilling win over The Tigers

Here is how the twitterrati reacted to the nail-biting finish of the Asia Cup 2018 between India and Bangladesh

FirstCricket Staff, Sep 29, 2018 14:05:19 IST

India successfully defended the Asia Cup title in the most dramatic fashion, beating Bangladesh in a last-ball thriller on Friday.

India was chasing a modest target of 223 at Dubai International Stadium, after winning the toss and inviting Bangladesh to bat first.

Despite its batting prowess and wealth of experience, India almost failed to reach that target as the tension reached breaking point.

It was left to a limping Kedar Jadhav to face the final ball with the scores level. He tried to flick it down to the fine leg boundary and failed to do so, but India got a single leg bye and did just enough.

"I am really proud of the team. We played very good cricket throughout the series and this is reward for the hard work," captain Rohit Sharma said. "Let me not take away any credit from the Bangladesh team because they have been fantastic. They started really well and then bowled very well too."

India won the tournament for the seventh time, having beaten Bangladesh in the 2016 final — played as a Twenty20 format.

Here is how the twitterrati reacted to the nail-biting finish of the Asia Cup 2018:

Regular skipper Virat Kohli congratulates his teammates, while also praising Bangladesh's valiant effort

The exciting contests in this edition has given new lease to Asia Cup, feels former India cricketer Sanjay Manjrekar

Who better to understand pressure than VVS Laxman. He lauds Kedar Jadhav's committment

The little kid's joy continues to melt Harbhajan Singh

The closely contested tournament is appreciated by Ayaz Memon

Chetan Sharma look away

Lest we forget, Afghanistan was the team that provided unparallel entertainment during this tournament

With inputs from AP

The Great Diwali Discount!
Unlock 75% more savings this festive season. Get Moneycontrol Pro for a year for Rs 289 only.
Coupon code: DIWALI. Offer valid till 10th November, 2019 .

Updated Date: Sep 29, 2018 14:05:19 IST

Rank Team Points Rating
1 India 4027 115
2 New Zealand 2829 109
3 South Africa 2917 108
4 England 4366 104
5 Australia 3270 99
6 Sri Lanka 3795 95
Rank Team Points Rating
1 England 6745 125
2 India 7071 122
3 New Zealand 4837 112
4 Australia 5543 111
5 South Africa 5193 110
6 Pakistan 5019 98
Rank Team Points Rating
1 Pakistan 7748 277
2 England 4253 266
3 South Africa 4720 262
4 India 8620 261
5 Australia 5471 261
6 New Zealand 4784 252