IPL 2021 Purple Cap List - Most Wickets

Pos Player Team Matches Wickets
1 Harshal Patel RCB 7 17
2 Avesh Khan DC 8 14
3 Chris Morris RR 7 14
4 Rahul Chahar MI 7 11
5 Rashid Khan SRH 7 10
6 Sam Curran CSK 7 9
7 Pat Cummins KKR 7 9
8 Kyle Jamieson RCB 7 9
9 Deepak Chahar CSK 7 8
10 Mohammed Shami PBKS 8 8
11 Mustafizur Rahman RR 7 8
12 Trent Boult MI 7 8

Purple Cap / Most Wickets

The Purple Cap will be awarded to the bowler with most dismissals at the end of IPL 2021, an award that will pass from one bowler to another as the tournament progresses before settling with the leading wicket-taker at the end of the tournament. Pakistan left-arm pacer Sohail Tanvir had won the award in the inaugural edition of the league in 2008, his 22 wickets playing a key role in Rajasthan Royals’ victorious campaign. The award went to the now-defunct Deccan Chargers’ camp in the next two seasons through RP Singh (2009) and Pragyan Ojha (2010). Sri Lanka pacer Lasith Malinga, who also happens to be the league’s all-time leading wicket-taker, won the Purple Cap for the only time in 2011. Chennai Super Kings’ Dwayne Bravo (2013 and 2015) and Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Bhuvneshwar Kumar (2016 and 2017) are the only bowlers to have won the Purple Cap on two different occasions. Kings XI Punjab’s Andrew Tye had bagged the award in IPL 2018, although his consistent performances with the ball couldn’t prevent his side from finish seventh in the IPL points table. Imran Tahir donned the cap in the 2019 edition, taking 26 wickets. While his countryman Kagiso Rabada donned that cap in 2020 with 30 wickets from 17 matches. Let us see who bags the IPL 2021 purple cap.

IPL 2021 more stories