Orange Cap / Most Runs

The Orange Cap is the award for the top run-getter in the Indian Premier League (IPL), an award that is juggled around from one batsman to another as the group stage of the IPL progresses along. It finally is awarded to the batsman with most runs at the end of the tournament.Australian batsman Shaun Marsh won the award in the inaugural edition of the league, and was followed by compatriot Matthew Hayden in 2009 edition. Indian batting icon Sachin Tendulkar won the award in 2010, a season in which he led the Mumbai Indians from the front while stamping his class on the shortest format. India skipper Virat Kohli had bagged the award after an incredible run with the bat in 2016. Chris Gayle (2011 and 2012) and David Warner (2015 and 2017) are the only batsmen in the league to have won the Orange Cap on two different occasions. Kane Williamson had won the prestigious award in the 2018 season, enjoying a consistent run with the bat while handling captaincy duties for the Sunrisers. Who walks away with the IPL 2019 orange cap is a matter of conjecture. With Warner and Steve Smith making their return to the IPL after serving year-long bans, the orange cap in IPL 2019 should make for an exciting contest.

IPL 2019 Orange Cap List - Most Runs

Pos Player Team Matches Runs
1 David Warner SRH 12 692
2 KL Rahul KXIP 14 593
3 Quinton de Kock MI 16 529
4 Shikhar Dhawan DC 16 521
5 Andre Russell KKR 14 510
6 Chris Gayle KXIP 13 490
7 Rishabh Pant DC 16 488
8 Virat Kohli RCB 14 464
9 Shreyas Iyer DC 16 463
10 Jonny Bairstow SRH 10 445
11 AB de Villiers RCB 13 442
12 Suryakumar Yadav MI 16 424

IPL 2019 more stories