Trending:

Explained: Why Dasun Shanaka was not out in Super Over despite Sanju Samson’s run-out effort

FirstCricket Staff September 27, 2025, 09:47:23 IST

India’s final Asia Cup 2025 Super 4 match against Sri Lanka ended in a Super Over thriller in Dubai. A bizarre incident happened during the match that saw Dasun Shanaka survive despite being run out by Sanju Samson. Here’s what the MCC laws say.

Advertisement
Suryakumar Yadav speaks with the umpires after the decision was overturned. Image: AFP
Suryakumar Yadav speaks with the umpires after the decision was overturned. Image: AFP

The final Super 4 match of the Asia Cup 2025 gave fans a night to remember as India and Sri Lanka played out one of the most thrilling games of the tournament in Dubai. The match went into a Super Over after both teams scored 202 runs. India eventually came out on top, restricting Sri Lanka to just 2 runs in the Super Over and chasing it down off the very first ball.

STORY CONTINUES BELOW THIS AD

However, there was this one strange moment during the Super Over that left everyone confused. On the fourth ball of the first innings, Sri Lanka’s Dasun Shanaka was given not out even though Sanju Samson had clearly run him out. The incident prompted the entire Indian team to converge around the on-field umpire to understand what had happened.

Here’s what happened

Shanaka missed a yorker off Arshdeep Singh outside off stump and tried to run for a single. Samson was quick behind the stumps as he broke the bails with Shanaka outside his crease. However, Arshdeep and other Indian players appealed at the same time for caught behind without noticing what Samson had done. The on-field umpire raised his finger after thinking for a while.

Everyone thought Shanaka was run-out, but the Sri Lankan batter went upstairs straight away, seeing the caught behind decision. Replays showed that Shanaka missed the ball completely, and the decision was overturned. Since the umpire gave him out caught behind, the ball was declared dead instantly, and the run-out did not count.

The Indian players, including captain Suryakumar Yadav, went to ask the umpires what happened. After an explanation, they had to accept the decision.

What does the rule say?

According to the MCC Laws of Cricket, once a batter is given out, the ball is dead from that very instant. Even if another mode of dismissal happens after that, it doesn’t matter because the ball is already dead.

20.1 Ball is dead

20.1.1 The ball becomes dead when

20.1.1.1 it is finally settled in the hands of the wicket-keeper or of the bowler.

20.1.1.2 a boundary is scored.  See Law 19.7 (Runs scored from boundaries).

20.1.1.3 a batter is dismissed.  The ball will be deemed to be dead from the instant of the incident causing the dismissal.

20.1.1.4 whether played or not it becomes trapped between the bat and person of a batter or between items of his/her clothing or equipment.

20.1.1.5 whether played or not it lodges in the clothing or equipment of a batter or the clothing of an umpire.

20.1.1.6 under either of Laws 24.4 (Player returning without permission) or 28.2 (Fielding the ball) there is an offence resulting in an award of Penalty runs. The ball shall not count as one of the over.

STORY CONTINUES BELOW THIS AD

QUICK LINKS

Home Video Shorts Live TV