Will stale Comedy Nights Bachao get a breath of fresh air with 'Taaza' revamp?

FP Staff

Sep 26, 2016 14:51:52 IST

After a year of its run on Colors TV, Comedy Nights Bachao is all set for a complete revamp.

Will stale Comedy Nights Bachao get a breath of fresh air with Taaza revamp?

A still from Comedy Nights Bachao Taaza.

Not only will the show go on air with a new name — Comedy Nights Bachao Taaza — but will also feature a new cast and a new format. Now the celebs who come on the show to promote their upcoming films can also roast the actors of the show.

Further the show will now be hosted by Mona Singh, of Kavach fame, while the previous hosts Krushna Abhishek and Bharti Singh will now feature as contestants on the show.

Apart from Krushna, Bharti and Sudesh Lahiri all the others from the first season have been replaced. The new faces on the show will be Sumeet Vyas, Nia Sharma, Ssharad Malhotra, Aditi Bhatia, Amruta Khanvilkar, Ssumier Pasricha, Manan Desai and Balraj Syal.

The new season began on Sunday, 25 September, with the Tutak Tutak Tutiyan cast coming on the show to promote their film.

The show has been facing rough times for quite some time now with poor TRP ratings and many celebrities refusing to promote their films on the show.

Hrithik Roshan and Akshay Kumar refused to promote Mohenjo Daro and Rustom on the show due to their format of insult comedy. Even Jacqueline Fernandez declined to feature on the show for the same reason during the promotions of Dishoom. Often Comedy Nights Bachao would only have actors from other Colors shows 'guesting' on the various episodes.

In such circumstances, the revamp plan of the show doesn't sound terribly promising. While the fresh cast might breathe new life into the show, will the minor change in format help? Allowing celebrities to insult the comedians on the show in return, sounds like poor consolation for actors who do not like to be 'roasted' in the first place.

Updated Date: Sep 26, 2016 14:51:52 IST

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.