Rock On 2 poster relives the 'Magik'; Shraddha Kapoor, Shashank Arora join Farhan Akhtar's band

FP Staff

Sep,02 2016 13:09:35 IST

It has been eight years since the release of Farhan Akhtar-starrer Rock On!! and fans have eagerly waited to watch the Magik band perform again. The wait seems to be coming to an end now with the makers releasing the first poster of the film's sequel Rock On!! 2.

Akhtar shared the poster with his fans on Twitter with the hashtag "ReliveTheMagik".

The poster gives out all the right vibes exuding the energy and enthusiasm that the film represents. The name of the film on the poster only says Rock On, and doesn't mention that it is the sequel. This could probably mean that the makers might change the film's title at a later point.

The tag line on the poster says, 'every generation finds its voice'. It has also given us heads up about the cast. The sequel will see the entry of Shraddha Kapoor and Shashank Arora, from Titli-fame,  while the previous actors Farhan Akhtar, Arjun Rampal and Purab Kohli will reprise their roles.

Prachi Desai, who debuted in Bollywood with Rock On!!, is missing in the poster, however NDTV reports that the actress will also be a part of the film. Farhan Akthar kept his fans guessing on social media by posting teasers before the actual release of the poster.

Shraddha Kapoor also shared her excitement on social media.

According to the Indian Express, the actress will also be singing in the film and she has also learnt to play the piano for the film.

The sequel will be helmed by Shujaat Saudagar, replacing Abhishek Kapoor.

Farhan had earlier revealed in an interview to PTI that the film is based on the North-Eastern conflict.

He said, “The film really is about that place, about that culture, it is about the region’s problem. The largest conflict in the movie is the regional conflict… There is a personal issue also but the main is the regional problem.”

“I am very happy to do this (promote North-East music). It is important to bring everything in mainstream. Everybody in the North-East plays an instrument or they sing. You don’t get to see that generally. When we were there, we had music playing 5 or 6 in the morning and no one was complaining. Everyone was enjoying that,” he further added.

Rock On!! 2 will be releasing on 11 November, 2016.

Updated Date: Sep 02, 2016 13:09 PM