Lipstick Under My Burkha trailer released: No less than milestone in women's narrative

FP Staff

Jun 27, 2017 19:24:23 IST

The most controversial film of the year, Lipstick Under My Burkha's trailer is out. After a long battle with the Central Board of Film Certification, the film is finally going to see the light of the day. The film stars Konkona Sen Sharma, Ratna Pathak Shah, Aahana Kumra, Plabita Borthakur and Vikrant Massey.

Lipstick Under My Burkha trailer released: No less than milestone in womens narrative

Film poster of Lipstick Under My Burkha.

The contentious film was slammed for being too 'lady-oriented' and received flak for its intimate scenes and abuses. The board had criticised the film for being a 'fanatsy above life' and with the release of the trailer, it feels like a significant milestone in women's narrative.

There is nothing more feminist than real women living their lives one transgression at a time, even if the act is something as small as applying lipstick to make a statement. The film is about four such women who live very different lives but what runs common through their lives is rebellion. Even if it means abandoning the little customs that hold them down.

Sharma plays a housewife with two kids, while Shah comes to terms with her own sexuality at a later stage in life. Kumra plays a girl who has too strong a personality for the small town she lives in and Borthakur plays a college-going girl who wants to be a pop-singer in an environment where girls are rebuked for wearing lipstick.

The film is directed by Alankrita Shrivastava and Prakash Jha has produced it. The film is an important film not only because of its feminist connotations but also because of the brave front it put up while fighting for clearance with the CBFC. The film finally releases on 21 July, 2017.


Watch the trailer here:

Updated Date: Jun 27, 2017 19:24:23 IST

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.