Jai Lava Kusa: Junior NTR's film accused of plagiarism by director Puri Jagannadh

FP Staff

Jul,10 2017 13:37:21 IST

Junior NTR's upcoming film Jai Lava Kusa has been grabbing eyeballs ever since the teaser and first poster of the film have been released and when viewers were told about his triple role in the film. Now it is making headlines because the makers and Junior NTR himself have been accused of plagiarism over the central character.

Junior NTR in Jai Lava Kusa's teaser. Screengrab from YouTube

Junior NTR in Jai Lava Kusa's teaser. Screengrab from YouTube

Puri Jagannadh, director of Telugu films such as Ism and Pokiri, has alleged that the makers of the film have fleshed out the lead character Jai by using an idea that Jagannadh had earlier pitched to the actor. "Jr NTR has a triple role in Jai Lava Kusa. The character of Jai, who is a devotee of Raavan and has a negative streak in him, is seen stammering in the teaser. Interestingly, Puri and Jr NTR were supposed to do a film together and had discussed a similar character during their meeting last December. This cannot be mere coincidence," said a source close to the film to Times of India.

The same report suggests that Jagannadh spoke about this allegation on the sets of his upcoming film Paisa Vasool, and even called Junior NTR a 'script chor'.

The source added that the actor had liked the initial idea narrated to him by Jagannadh, but wanted some changes made which Jagannadh was not amenable to, and this is why he dropped the offer. Now, Jagannadh cannot apparently pursue this film, which was supposed to be a Rs 100-crore project, because the characters are startlingly similar. Previously they have worked together on a film titled Temper, which released in 2015.

When contacted, KS Ravindra, the director of Jai Lava Kusa rubbished these claims, and said that Jai's stammer was always a part of the script. He added that he is not aware of anyone else discussing such a character with Junior NTR.

Jai Lava Kusa also stars Rashi Khanna, Posani Krishna Murali, Brahmaji, Pradeep Rawat, Jayprakash Reddy, Prabhas Sreenu, Praveen and Hamsa Nandini. It is scheduled to release on 21 September.

Updated Date: Jul 10, 2017 13:37 PM