IIFA: Ranbir, Vidya grab best actor awards


Jun 10, 2012 09:02:44 IST

Singapore: Vidya Balan was named the best actress at the 13th IIFA awards tonight for her portrayal of south siren Silk Smitha in "The Dirty Picture", while Ranbir Kapoor took home the best actor award for "Rockstar".

"Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" (ZNMD) won the best picture award, pipping "Bodyguard", "No One Killed Jessica", "Rockstar' and "The Dirty Picture".

 IIFA: Ranbir, Vidya grab best actor awards

Vidya Balan with Kamal HaasanAFP

Zoya Akhtar won the best director and best story award for ZNMD, while Farhan Akhtar won best supporting actor trophy for the same film.

AR Rahman, who was named the best music director for "Rockstar", said, "I thank the crew of Rockstar, including Mohit Chauhan and Ranbir Kapoor, for their cooperation. Thanks to Javed Akhtar, we can all have our rights to our music now that the Copyright Act has been amended."

Ranbir Kapoor. AFP

Vidya, who has bagged the best actress trophy at every award ceremony this year, accepted the gong from veteran actor-filmmaker Kamal Hassan and renowned Hollywood producer Barrie M Osborne.

"To get the award from such an actor whom I have worshipped all my life is an honour. Seven years ago my first film 'Parineeta' premiered at IIFA Amsterdam and today I am winning the best actress award here," said Vidya, who was dressed in a black saree.

Ranbir, on accepting his award, said, "I am grateful to have got the opportunity to work with masterminds like Imtiaz Ali, AR Rahman and my grand uncle Shammi Kapoor in this film."

Parineeti Chopra was the only actress to have won two awards in the evening - best female debutante and best supporting actress for her role in "Ladies vs Ricky Bahl".

Vidyut Jamwal won the best male debut award for his role in "Force".

The best actor in a negative role award went to Prakash Raj for playing the humorous baddie in "Singham", while Riteish Deshmukh was named the best actor in a comic role award for "Double Dhamaal".


Updated Date: Jun 10, 2012 09:02:45 IST