Fast and Furious 9 and 10 confirmed; Vin Diesel, Dwayne Johnson to reprise roles

FP Staff

April 20, 2017 16:52:24 IST

The makers of Fast and Furious 8, or The Fate of the Furious as it is otherwise known, said that the film was the first of a final trilogy in the franchise. It is now confirmed that the next two parts of the trilogy will be made.

The Fate of The Furious aka The Fast and the Furious 8

The Fate of The Furious aka The Fast and the Furious 8

The only two stars to have been signed on thus far are Vin Diesel and Dwayne Johnson. The release dates for the ninth and tenth installments of the franchise are 19 April 2019 and 2 April 2021, respectively.

Fast and Furious 8 earned Rs 71 crore in India within a week of its release. It surpassed the earnings of the previous film and had the biggest collection on its opening weekend by earning $532 million worldwide. It also surpassed the box office collection of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, which released in 2015 and earned $529 million.

In the US, the film made $100.2 million, and in the overseas market it earned $432.2 million. Since its first film released in 2001, the franchise has made an estimated $4.4 billion.

Fast and Furious 8 was directed by F Gary Gray and saw Vin Diesel and Michelle Rodriguez return in their roles as Dominic 'Dom' Toretto and Letty Ortiz respectively. It was the first film made without Paul Walker in its cast; Walker died in a tragic car accident in 2013 — he had wrapped up the shoot for Furious 7 just before the incident occurred.

The eighth installment also starred Jason Statham, Tyrese Gibson, Chris 'Ludacris' Bridges, Scott Eastwood, Nathalie Emmanuel, Kurt Russell and Charlize Theron. Theron played the antagonist of the film.

Updated Date: Apr 20, 2017 16:52 PM