SBI changes names, IFSC codes of around 1,300 branches in major cities; any use of old codes will get mapped with new

Mumbai: Post the merger of its five associates, State Bank of India has changed names and Indian Financial System Codes (IFSC) of nearly 1,300 of its branches.

The country's largest lender has changed the names and IFSC codes of branches located in major cities such as Mumbai, New Delhi, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kolkata and Lucknow, among others.

"Some of our old associate branches are getting merged with SBI branches. When that merger happens, the IFSC codes get changed," the banks managing director (retail and digital banking), Praveen Gupta, said.

He said customers have been informed about the change in IFSC codes, but internally also the bank has mapped them to the new codes.

Pic courtesy: Reuters

Pic courtesy: Reuters

"Even if some payment comes based on the old IFSC codes, it will get mapped with the new codes. It will not cause any problem to any customer," he said. The bank has close to 23,000 branches.

The bank has put up the list of branches with old and new names and IFSC codes on its website.

IFSC is an 11-digit alpha-numeric code used to uniquely identify all bank branches participating in any RBI regulated funds transfer system. The IFSC code is required to transfer money from one account to another using RTGS, NEFT or IMPS methods.

In April this year, SBI merged its five associate banks - State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Hyderabad, State Bank of Mysore - and also Bharatiya Mahila Bank into itself.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Dec 11, 2017 07:42:19 IST

Also See