Maharashtra, Manipur and five union territories to roll out intra-state e-way bills tomorrow

New Delhi: The central government on Thursday said that two more states - Maharashtra and Manipur - along with five Union Territories will roll out the intra-state e-way bills from 25 May.

The Union Territories are Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, and Lakshadweep.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

According to a Finance Ministry statement, with the latest addition, the total number of states and UTs implementing e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods will rise to 27.

As on 23 May, the system has been implemented in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and Puducherry.

"E-way bills are getting generated successfully and till 23 May, more than 5.3 crore e-way bills were successfully generated, including more than 1.6 crore e-way bills for intra-state movement of goods," the statement said.

Under the Goods and Services Tax regime, an e-way bill needs to be generated and carried for movement of all goods valued at over Rs 50,000.

Updated Date: May 24, 2018 20:01 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See