GST: E-way bill must for interstate goods movement from 1 February

New Delhi: The e-way bill, to be generated under the GST for all inter-state movement of goods valued at over Rs 50,000, will become mandatory from Thursday, on the day of the presentation of the Union Budget 2018-19 in Parliament.

Representational image. Reuters.

Representational image. Reuters.

The implementation of this electronic documentation system, to track the movement of goods and designed to prevent tax evasion, was put on hold until after the Goods and Services Tax (GST) stabilised following the rollout of the new indirect tax regime from 1 July last year.

All states and union territories, except Lakshadweep, have joined the e-way bill system, according to the GST Network (GSTN) officials here, while 13 states have signed up for the intra-state part of the system.

The e-way bill will also become mandatory for all movement of goods within a state from 1 June.

The officials said that during the 14 day trial period starting from 17 January, transporters have generated 28.4 lakh e-way bills, with 3.4 lakh of these being generated on 30 January alone. During this period, 11,581 transporters registered themselves under the system.

Updated Date: Feb 01, 2018 09:02 AM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See