Nobel prize in Physics to be announced today - Firstpost
You are here:

Nobel prize in Physics to be announced today

#Nobel Prize   #Noble Prize 2012   #Physics Nobel  

Stockholm: A secretive award committee in Stockholm will announce the winner of this year's Nobel Prize in physics.

Only two women have won the prize since it was first awarded in 1901: Marie Curie in 1903 and Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963. The other 189 winners were men.

The physics panel also has a tendency to reward younger people than the other Nobel Prize committees. The average age for physics laureates is 54, the lowest for any of the six prize categories. Nobel literature laureates are on average 10 years older.

The Nobel Prize logo is seen in this photo. AFP

The 2012 Nobel Prize announcements got under way Monday with the medicine prize going to stem cell pioneers John Gurdon of Britain and Japan's Shinya Yamanaka. Each award is worth 8 million kronor, or about $1.2 million.


First Published On : Oct 9, 2012 10:58 IST

Comment using Disqus

Show Comments