Tuesday, December 1, 2015| Latest E-book
You are here: Home » Topics » » United Nations » Videos

Canada to donate $75 million to the United Nations for Syrian refugee relief

Nov 27, 2015    

Toronto: Canada's Liberal government announced on Thursday a US$75 million (CA$100 million) contribution to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees to help fleeing Syrians, fulfilling a campaign promise from its recent federal election.The contribution includes US$7.5 million (CA$10 million) for the UN refugee agency as part of the program to resettle thousands of Syrian refugees in Canada over the next few months.International Development Minister Marie-Claude Bibeau said the government will move quickly to disburse the funds."We know that Syrian refugees are cutting on meals, ...

Read More