Niti Aayog has disbursed over Rs 153 Crore as reward money to encourage digital payments

As of February 20, 2017, Niti Aayog's schemes for encouraging cashless transactions have run for 58 days. Over the course of these 58 days, the National Payment Corporation of India (NPCI), which has been executing the schemes, has disbursed over 153 crore as reward money. The amount has been distributed across two schemes. The two incentive schemes are named Lucky Grahak Yojana, for consumers and Digi Dhan Vyapar Yojana for merchants. There have been 9.8 lakh winners, out of which 9.2 lakh winners were consumers.


Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Delhi have emerged as the top five states to adopt digital transactions. Active participation has been seen among both men and women across all regions. While most of the winners are in the 21 to 30 age group, there are a significant number of winners in the above 60 category, destroying the myth that digital transactions are challenging for senior citizens. The winners are from diverse socio-economic backgrounds, including farmers, merchants, small entrepreneurs, housewives, professionals, students and retired persons.

There is 1.5 crore up for grabs every day, and a prize money of 8.3 crore allocated for every week. 15,00o winners are chosen randomly every day, and an additional 14,000 winners are picked weekly. Consumers and merchants using the Bhim App, Aadhaar enabled payment system (AEPS), UPI (Universal Payment Interface), the USSD based *99# service are automatically eligible for the daily and weekly luck draws.

From December 25, 2016, Niti Aayog has organised Digi Dhan Melas in over 110 cities across India. The Digi Dhan Melas to encourage cashless transactions is scheduled to continue at various locations across the country till 14 April, 2017. The initiative to make digital transactions a mass movement across the country has made headway across the nation, with an increasing number of people adopting digital payments.

Published Date: Feb 21, 2017 17:48 PM | Updated Date: Feb 21, 2017 17:48 PM