Instagram has added new features to its messaging interface, Instagram Direct, wherein users can now change the privacy settings for the messages they send. The three new features introduced in the chat are View Once, Allow Replay and Keep In Chat.
All these features are quite self-explanatory. View Once will allow the receiver of the photo/video to only view it once. Allow Replay will give the receiver one more chance to view the shared media, and Keep In Chat will keep the media on the chat indefinitely until you choose to delete it.
Before this, all images or videos sent on the chat could be replayed once and then they would disappear, just like any media sent on Snapchat. With the Keep in Chat feature, Instagram has diverted from its policy of incessantly copying Snapchat features, as the user can now keep a message in the chat as long as they would like.
As per a report by TechCrunch, an Instagram spokesperson told them that "all these updates are designed to give people more control of what they share with friends in Direct".
In some more news related to Instagram, the Facebook-owned social media company is testing a new feature where you will be notified whenever a screenshot is taken of your Instagram stories or if the screen is being recorded.
Published Date: Feb 22, 2018 19:08 PM | Updated Date: Feb 22, 2018 19:08 PM