Google Translate adds five new languages including Marathi

Google has been pushing out language additions to Google Translate in a big way. It has added five new languages – including Marathi – to its repertoire of existing languages on Tuesday.

Google Translate has been an important part of most of our Internet existences, especially since we come in contact with foreign terms or phrases quite often. For travelers too, Google Translate is pretty indispensable during their trips abroad. Google has been updating its service with language packs regularly too.

Translate Marathi at ease now

Translate Marathi at ease now


This time round Google has added some more languages like Bosnian, the official language of Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cebuano, spoken in the Philippines, Hmong spoken in countries like China, Vietnam and Laos and Javanese, the second most-spoken language in Indonesia. Google has also added Marathi to its mix of already existing Indian language options like Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Google believes that the addition of these languages will help users of the service as more than 183 million people around the globe speak these languages. It’s important to note that with the exception of Bosnian, the new languages are in “alpha” mode. This means that the quality of these languages is not quite perfect, but Google will be continuing to test and improve them over time.

Published Date: May 09, 2013 11:20 am | Updated Date: May 09, 2013 11:20 am