Google Translate Adds Five More Indian Languages

Google has just added five more Indian languages to the Google Translate pool bringing the grand total to 63 languages. The new additions are still in alpha stages, and include Bengali, Gujarati, Kannada, Tamil and Telugu. Also known as the Indic languages, they generally differ quite a bit in the way sentences are structured making fluent translations a real task. 

Breaking the language barrier

Breaking the language barrier



Indian languages often use Subject Object Verb (SOV) to form sentences, unlike English which uses the Subject Verb Object (SVO) order. Google’s research to improve Japanese translations have helped them overcome this barrier allowing them to add many more SOV languages. Since the newly added languages are still in alpha phase, the translations won’t be very fluent, but you can give it a try by hitting this link here.


Since these languages have their own unique scripts, Google has implemented a transliterated input method which means when you type an English word from a regular keyboard, it automatically writes it in the Indic script that you’ve chosen. This opens doors to a whole new set of audiences who were once limited to viewing websites written in their own native language. It also saves websites the headache of implementing different languages on their site in order to reach out to a wider audience. We as readers can also help Google improve the quality of translations by sending them feedback, so just in case you come across any mistakes, feel free to point it out. 

Published Date: Jun 22, 2011 11:07 am | Updated Date: Jun 22, 2011 11:07 am