Previously, if you added someone to your Google+ circles even if you really weren't too terribly close to them, you'd still get notifications from them. And because the number is just sitting there in that big compellingly red box, you just have to check your notifications. After listening to users complaints, Google+ has decided to let you control who is able to send you notifications. If you go to your Google+ settings, you need to use the option, "Who can notify you" to be able to exercise your control over your notifications.
Change your settings for notification control
According to Google, the settings will let you control who you get notifications from if they share with you individually, select Notify about this post (when they're sharing with a circle that you're a part of), mention your name, invite you to a Hangout or if they invite you or send you messages from a game. You will still be notified if someone adds you to their circle or if someone comments on one of your posts.
Currently, the 'Who can notify you' settings are applied to your Extended Circles by default, but you can change this to be applied to
your Circles, anyone or a custom selection of specific Circles and individuals. This new function is rolling out slowly, so if you don't have it yet, sit tight, it will come to you. What do you think of this new feature from Google+. Is it needed? Let us know in the comments section below.
Published Date: Oct 08, 2011 11:01 am | Updated Date: Oct 08, 2011 11:01 am