In association with

Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina and Gautam Gambhir named captains of Duleep Trophy teams

New Delhi: Senior cricketers Yuvraj Singh, Gautam Gambhir and Suresh Raina will lead India Red, India Blue and India Green teams respectively in the Duleep Trophy to be played at Greater Noida International Cricket Stadium from 23 August to 14 September.

The four-day tournament will be played for the first time with pink ball and under lights.

The selection of Yuvraj, Raina and pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who will play for India Green, raises serious questions over their participation in the two Twenty20 matches against West Indies in Florida, USA on 27 and 28 August and as the games clashes with the dates of Duleep Trophy.

File picture of Yuvraj Singh. AP

File picture of Yuvraj Singh. AP

All three players Yuvraj, Raina and Bumrah were part of India's ICC Twenty20 World Cup earlier this year.

Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik and Test specialist Cheteshwar Pujara, who is witnessing a poor run of form in the ongoing West Indies tour, will play under Gambhir in the India Blue team while veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh and Murali Vijay will play for India Green side.

India Red will face India Green in the tournament opener from 23-26 August, followed by matches between India Red and India Blue from 29 August-1 September, India Blue vs India Green is slated from 4-7 September.

The final will be played from 10-14 September.


India Red: Yuvraj Singh (Capt), Abhinav Mukund, KS Bharat, Sudip Chatterjee Gurkeerat Singh, Ankush Bains (WK), Arun Karthik, Akshay Wakhare, Kuldeep Yadav, Nathu Singh, Anureet Singh, Ishwar Pandey, Nitish Rana, M Ashwin, Abhimanyu Mithun.

India Blue: Gautam Gambhir (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Sheldon Jackson, Baba Aparajith, Siddhesh Lad, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Parvez Rasool, K Monish, Krishna Das, Suryakumar Yadav, Mohit Sharma, Pankaj Singh, Shardul Thakur, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari.

India Green: Suresh Raina (Capt), Robin Uthappa, Jalaj Saxena, Ambati Rayudu, Ian Dev Singh, Rohan Prem, Parthiv Patel (WK), Harbhajan Singh, Shreyas Gopal, Ashoke Dinda, Sandeep Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot, Rajat Paliwal, Jasprit Bumrah, Murali Vijay.

Published Date: Aug 11, 2016 23:48 PM | Updated Date: Aug 12, 2016 00:56 AM

Also See