Virender Sehwag named in Khel Ratna, Arjuna Award committee; P Gopichand to pick Dronacharya awardees

New Delhi: Former India opener Virender Sehwag has been named in the committee which will decide on this year's Khel Ratna and Arjuna awardees while celebrated badminton coach P Gopichand will chair the committee which will recommend the Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand award winners.

File image of Virender Sehwag. AFP

File image of Virender Sehwag. AFP

The Arjuna Award Committee will be headed by Justice (retired) CK Thakkar and will meet on 3 August to select this year's awardees.

This committee has P T Usha (athlete) Mukund Killekar (boxing), Sunil Dabbas (Kabaddi), M R Mishra (Journalist), S Kannan (Journalist), Sanjeev Kumar (Journalist), Latha Madhvi (Para athlete), Anil Khanna (sports administrator), Injeti Srinivas (DG, SAI) and Rajvir Singh (joint Secretary, Sports Ministry) as the other members.

The Gopichand-led Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awards Committee has 10 members including ace cueist Pankaj Advani.

The other members are: Gopal Saini (athletics), M K Kaushik (Hockey) and Virendra Poonia (Athletics), Maha Singh Rao (Wrestling), Noris Pritam (Journalist), Rajinder Sejwan (Journalist), B V P Rao (Administrator).

The two Ex-officio Members are: Director General (SAI) and Joint Secretary (Sports Development).

Published Date: Jul 27, 2017 23:02 PM | Updated Date: Jul 27, 2017 23:02 PM

Also See