Nissan Logo
ACC Logo NZ logo Cigna logo
You are here:

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Mumbai beat Baroda by 17 runs

Left-arm spinners Iqbal Abdulla and Ankeet Chavan took three each as Ranji champions Mumbai defeated Baroda by 17 runs in their limited-overs Vijay Hazare Trophy (West Zone) match today.

Sent into bat, Mumbai were all out for 236 in 49.5 overs, and then restricted Baroda to 219 for nine at the Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium.

Abdulla picked up three for 44 while Chavan returned figures of three for 45. There were two wickets for skipper Ajit Agarkar. Ambati Rayudu top-scored for Baroda with a knock of 52 while Aditya Waghmode made 42.


Chavan returned figures of three for 45. PTI

Despite getting a decent start with the openers -- Saurabh Wakaskar (31) and Aditya Reddy (38) -- putting on 61 runs, Baroda failed to chase down the target.

After Rayudu's dismissal to Abdulla, none of the Baroda players could contribute. Earlier, Mumbai relied on Shoaibh Shaikh (51) and the experienced Wasim Jaffer (42) to give them a platform.

Before his effort with ball, Abdulla contributed with the bat as well, scoring an invaluable 39-ball 43 and giving his team's total a semblance of respectability Abdulla struck two fours and as many sixes during his breezy knock, which proved to be the difference eventually.


Goa vs Karnataka (Karnataka won by 6 wickets)

Goa 318/8 (50 ov): S Kamat 110, A Desai 62. KP Appanna 3/56
Karnataka 319/4 (46.3 ov): R Uthappa 169, G Satish 61. R Pinto 2/35

Andhra vs Tamil Nadu (Andhra won by 7 runs)

Andhra 228 (46.2 ov): A Mazumdar 60*. S Sam 3/37, R Shah 3/54
Tamil Nadu 221/9 (50.0 ov): D Karthik 70, S Badrinath 53. K Sahabuddin 4/33

Tripura vs Assam (Assam won by 8 wickets)

Tripura 109 (37 ov):  A Ratra 28. G Sharma 4/27
Assam 110/2 (23.0 ov): P Das 40, S Roy 22

Bengal vs Odisha (Bengal won by 11 runs)

Bengal 186 (46.1 ov): M Tiwary 55, W Saha 36. B Mohanty 4/22
Odisha 175 (41.5 ov): B Samantray 51, G Podder 44. L Shukla 5/34, A Dinda 4/48

Gujarat vs Maharashtra (Maharashtra won by 3 wickets)

Gujarat 289/8 (50 ov): M Juneja 114, A Patel 45. S Mundhe 2/53
Maharashtra 290/7 (49.1 ov): V Zol 69, K Jadhav 64.

Hyderabad vs Kerala (Kerala won by 6 wickets)

Hyderabad (India) 192/8 (50 ov): G Vihari 81. P Parameswaran 4/24
Kerala 193/4 (39.2 ov): P Prem 93. A Ahmed 2/33

Madhya Pradesh vs Railways (Railways won by 1 wicket)

Madhya Pradesh 172 (45.5 ov): A Singh 45. S Gehlot 4/20, A Yadav 4/18
Railways 178/9 (49.4 ov): A Paunikar 52. I Pandey 4/44

Rajasthan vs Uttar Pradesh (Uttar Pradesh won by 8 wickets)

Rajasthan 198/7 (35/35 ov): R Bist 60, A Menaria 53. I Ahmed 3/51
Uttar Pradesh 201/2 (31.3/35 ov): P Gupta 87, S Raina 70.

With inputs from PTI