UEFA says Chelsea captain John Terry is eligible to lift the Champions League trophy even though he is suspended for the final against Bayern Munich.
UEFA says in a statement to The Associated Press that “John Terry will be allowed to lift the trophy if Chelsea win, and collect medals.”
Terry's red card rules him out of the final. AP
UEFA says Terry can join his teammates in the dressing room in Munich on May 19. However, he cannot sit on the bench with coaches and substitutes during the match.
Terry will miss the final after being sent off for putting his knee into Barcelona forward Alexis Sanchez’s back during Chelsea’s semifinal win on Tuesday.
Three other Chelsea players, and three of the Bayern team are also suspended.
Firstpost encourages open discussion and debate, but please adhere to the rules below, before posting. Comments that are found to be in violation of any one or more of the guidelines will be automatically deleted:
Personal attacks/name calling will not be tolerated. This applies to comments directed at the author, other commenters and other politicians/public figures
Please do not post comments that target a specific community, caste, nationality or religion.
While you do not have to use your real name, any commenters using any Firstpost writer's name will be deleted, and the commenter banned from participating in any future discussions.
Comments will be moderated for abusive and offensive language.