Ranji: Uttar Pradesh top Group B, qualify for quarters

Cuttack: Uttar Pradesh came up with yet another superb bowling show by bundling out Odisha for just 101 in their second innings to score a 43-run win over the home side on the third and penultimate day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match here today.

Chasing 145 for a win, Odisha needed 92 more runs today but it took Uttar Pradesh just 17.2 overs to dismiss the remaining six batsmen of the visiting side and end the match inside seven sessions.

Resuming at 53 for four, Odisha could add just 48 runs before they were all out for 101 in the morning session on a pace-friendly pitch at the Barabati Stadium. Paceman Imtiaz Ahmed completed his first 10-wicket haul in first-class cricket with figures of 5/29 in Odisha's second innings. Govind Podder resisted with a 36 -- the highest scorer for Odisha in second essay and second-highest in the match, but Uttar Pradesh were too good for the home side.

Dinesh Karthik made a century for Tamil Nadu. Reuters

Only two other Odisha batsmen -- Niranjan Behera (15) and Lagnajit Samal (13) -- could reach double-digit figures.

With today's win, Uttar Pradesh ended on the top of Group B with 33 points -- from four wins and four draws -- thus ensuring a meeting with a Group C team in the quarter-final. Odisha, who had to take the gamble of producing a green pitch against the best attack in the country, were knocked out of the tournament as they needed to win the match to stay in the hunt for a place in knock-out stage.

Brief Scores

Uttar Pradesh: 160 and 111. Odisha: 127 and 101 all out in 37.2 overs (Govind Podder 36; Imtiaz Ahmed 5/29).

Other scores

Group A

Gujarat: 244 and 159/5 (Parthiv Patel 47, Manpreet Juneja 39 batting; Javed Khan 2/22, Ankeet Chavan 2/59) trail Mumbai 447 all out (Wasim Jaffer 171, Hiken Shah 82; Rush Kalaria 3/80, Kushang Patel 3/79) by 44 runs.

Madhya Pradesh: 135 and 89/2 (Saxena 46*) trail Saurashtra: 242 and 303/4 decl (Pujara 202*, Vasavada 55, Pandey 3/15) by 322 runs.

Group B

Maharashtra 99 (Mithun 6 for 36, Binny 4-37) and (f/o) 315 for 2 (Khadiwale 136, Bawne 80*, Atitkar 78) trail Karnataka 572 for 9 decl. (Gautam 264*, Binny 168) by 158 runs match against Vidarbha.

Vidarbha 257 and (f/o) 1 for 0 trail Delhi 523 for 9 decl. (Rawal 104, Chand 82) by 265 runs

Tamil Nadu 488 for 6 (Karthik 187) v Haryana.

Group C

Jharkhand 120 (Suraj Yadav 6-43) and 35/0 need another 183 runs to win versus Services 185 (Chatterjee 97, Ajay Yadav 5-30) and 152 (Ajay Yadav 6-43).

Goa 381 (Desai 105, Kamat 70, Pinto 61, Arup Das 5-83) and 11/0 lead Assam 366 (Sibsankar Roy 87, Pallavkumar Das 70) by 26 runs.

Andhra 329 (Muzumdar 146, Sahabuddin 49) and 38/ 0 lead Kerala 311 (Samson 122, Jagadeesh 117, Vijaykumar 4-77, Atchuta Rao 4-78) by 56 runs.

Tripura 226 for 5 v Jammu & Kashmir (only 23 overs were bowled on the first two days because of rain).