PR Venketrama Raja unanimously re-elected as president of All India Chess Federation

Chennai: Tamil Nadu's PR Venketrama Raja was unanimously re-elected president of the All India Chess Federation (AICF) for the term 2017-2020 while Bharat Singh Chauhan of Delhi was elected honorary secretary.

File picture of Chess Board. Getty

Representational image. Getty

The new AICF office-bearers were elected during the annual general body meeting held in Chennai on 25 June, said a press release.

Chauhan returns as the Federation honorary secretary and takes over from V Hariharan. He had served as the CEO in the previous term after stepping down as secretary as per government guidelines on tenure of office-bearers of national sports federations.

The other office-bearers elected unopposed are: Treasurer: Kishor M Bandekar (Goa). Vice Presidents: D V Sundar (TN), A Bhakthavatchalam (Puducherry), A Narasimha Reddy (Telangana), Sekhar Chandra Sahu (Odisha), G Bhasker (Andaman) and Manoj Itkelwar (Maharashtra).

Joint secretaries: R Hanumantha (Karnataka), Kapil Saxena (MP), Atanu Lahiri (Bengal), Th B Singh (Meghalaya), Naresh Sharma (Haryana) and Bhavesh Patel (Gujarat).

Published Date: Jun 28, 2017 21:23 PM | Updated Date: Jun 28, 2017 21:23 PM

Also See