Kerala Cricket Associataion president and secretary resign after Supreme Court verdict

Kochi: Kerala Cricket Association (KCA) president TC Mathew and secretary TN Ananthanarayan on Monday resigned from their posts following a Supreme Court verdict.

A KCA release said B Vinod Kumar has been appointed as the new president and Jayesh George will serve as the secretary of the association.

"The decision was taken at a special General Body Meeting held at Kochi," it said.

Representational image. Getty Images

Representational image. Getty Images

Along with Mathew and Ananthanarayan, other office-bearers including S Haridas, T R Balakrishnan and Sunil Koshy George who have "cumulatively or separately completed nine years in office", also quit their posts following the Supreme Court directive to BCCI to implement the Lodha Panel reforms.

While Vinod Kumar was serving as the secretary of Idukki District Cricket Association, Jayesh George was holding the post of treasurer of KCA.

Sreejith V Nair, currently serving as the secretary of Alappuza District Cricket Association, will be the new KCA treasurer.

Rejith Rajendran, V B Ishaque , Nazir Machan (Vice Presidents) and V G Reghunath( Finance Committee Chairman) are the other office bearers.

The changes were brought hours after the Supreme Court removed BCCI president Anurag Thakur and secretary Ajay Shirke.

Mathew, who has served the KCA as an office-bearer for nearly two decades, is also a BCCI vice-president.

Ananthanarayan vacated his post as he has completed nearly 11 years in office.

According to the directive from the Lodha panel, any individual who has cumulatively completed a period of nine years as an office bearer of a state association stands disqualified from contesting elections or holding a post in the association.

Mathew and his team members left office seven months ahead of completion of current term of office-bearers.

Published Date: Jan 02, 2017 21:39 PM | Updated Date: Jan 02, 2017 21:39 PM

Also See