As it happened: Chennai Super Kings vs Delhi Daredevils

WICKET! Delhi 136 all out after 16.5 overs
Varun Aaron run out 0 (2b, 0x4, 0x6)

That's it! Dhoni gets a direct hit and  Aaron is run out. CSK have qualified for their fourth final in five IPL tournaments so far. There could not be a better time to peak other than just before the final. Kolkata Knight Riders will have to be at their best to beat a confident Super Kings side.

WICKET! Delhi 136-9 after 16.3 overs
Umesh Yadav b Ashwin 1 (4b, 0x4, 0x6)

Ashwin's fuller delivery rattles Yadav's stumps. One more wicket for CSK, and they will be in the finals. Delhi are surely done and dusted now.

WICKET! Delhi 135-8 after 15.5 overs
Sunny Gupta st Dhoni b Jakati 0 (1b, 0x4, 0x6)

Gupta charges down the track and misses. That is enough for Dhoni to collect and sweep the bails off. Easy.

WICKETS! Delhi 127-7 after 14.5 overs
Mahela Jayawardene b Ashwin 55 (38b, 4x4, 2x6)
Venugopal Rao run out 10 (7b, 0x4, 1x6)

The Sri Lankan attempts a reverse sweep and the carom ball from Ashwin does the trick and finds the stumps. A couple balls later, Ashwin picks out a low throw and removes the bails before Rao could finish his quick run.

WICKET! Delhi 117-5 after 13.2 overs
Naman Ojha c Vijay b Jakati 7 (5b, 0x4, 1x6)

Ojha sees a full toss and his eyes light up. Problem is, Vijay's eyes also light up since the ball is straight to him in the deep. He tries to dance after the catch... but cannot quite pull off a Bravo.

WICKET! Delhi 106-4 after 11.4 overs
Andre Russell c Bravo b Ashwin 17 (11b, 2x4, 0x6)

Russell shoots one high into the air and it's taken by Bravo, who then breaks into a lovely jig. A bit of a sideways moonwalk.

Delhi 97-3 after 11 overs
Jayawardene 46, Russell 15

Somehow, Delhi are putting up a fight. But they need a big innings from someone to chase CSK's mammoth total down. Jayawardene and Russell doing a good job of holding fort, but they need boundaries, which have been hard to find.

WICKET! Delhi 74-3 after 8.2 overs
Ross Taylor c Raina b Bravo 24 (14b, 1x4, 2x6)

Taylor, a player on whom Delhi's hopes of big hitting were pinned, has now departed. His whipped shot is straight to long-on and Raina makes no mistakes.

Delhi 62-2 after 7 overs
Taylor 24, Jayawardene 31

If there is one person who could still pull off a miraculous win here, then it's Ross Taylor. The batsman has smacked a couple of quick sixes and a four. The usually patient Jayawardene is also attacking every delivery.

WICKET! Delhi 22-2 after 3.4 overs
Virender Sehwag c Hussey b Morkel 1 (6b, 0x4, 0x6)

Sehwag is gone! A priceless wicket for Chennai as his high shot is tracked brilliantly by Hussey before diving towards it and completing a fantastic bit of fielding. Is that the game?

WICKET! Delhi 17-1 after 2.2 overs
David Warner c Vijay b Hilfenhaus 3 (7b, 0x4, 0x6)

It is a big wicket for CSK, because if Warner gets going, he can be absolutely lethal to the bowling attack. He tries to drive through the off side and is caught by centurion Vijay.

Vijay scored the fastest century in this year's tournament. AFP

Delhi come out to bat and are chasing 223 runs

WICKET! CSK 222-5 after 20 overs
Murali Vijay run out 113 (58b, 15x4, 4x6)

Wicket on the last ball as Vijay tries to score as many runs as possible. But Chennai have blasted 39 runs in the last three overs to score a massive total. Dwayne Bravo has also contributed to that in a big way... he has scored three fours and two boundaries in his short quick innings of 33 runs in 12 balls.

WICKET! CSK 183-4 after 17.1 overs
Albie Morkel c Ojha b Yadav 0 (1b, 0x4, 0x6)

Morkel lashes out at a delivery outside off stump and his edge is brilliantly taken by Ojha behind the wickets. Meanwhile, Vijay brings up the fastest century in this year's IPL. And with that, he makes amends for all his failures so far.

WICKET! CSK 173-3 after 16.3 overs
MS Dhoni c Negi b Aaron 23 (10b, 1x4, 2x6)

Dhoni came and entertained. His 10 ball knock came at a strike rate of 230.00 and will go a long way in making this total a very hard one to chase down.

WICKET! CSK 137-2 after 13.4 overs
Suresh Raina c & b Negi 27 (17b, 3x4, 1x6)

Raina had joined Vijay in spanking the ball to the ropes. But he gets a bit too excited and attempts the sweep slog one time too many. He cannot connect in his latest attempt and is taken by the bowler. Good sharp catch.

CSK 115-1 after 11 overs
Vijay 75, Raina 8

Fabulous hitting from Vijay... just fabulous! He has smashed Sehwag all over the park in the 11th over— getting two fours and two sixes. He was caught very well on the boundary line but the fielder had stepped on the ropes before completing the catch.

WICKET! CSK 52-1 after 8.1 overs
Michael Hussey c Ojha b Aaron 20 (22b, 2x4, 0x6)

Finally a breakthrough for Delhi! Aaron's widish delivery is driven through by Hussey, but he just manages to get an edge at it... and Ojha collects with ease.

CSK 52-0 after 6 overs
Vijay 38, Hussey 13

CSK have done very well to reach the 50-run mark in their powerplay overs— especially if you consider that they were put in to bat first. Is that decision to leave out Morne Morkel hurting now?

CSK 31-0 after 4 overs
Vijay 21, Hussey 9

There has been a four every over up until now. While Vijay looks the more dangerous batsman, Hussey has also driven through the covers to open his boundaries account. This is a pretty healthy score for CSK.

CSK 12-0 after 1 over
Vijay 10, Hussey 2

Will Vijay finally come good for CSK tonight? Going by the first two deliveries, maybe. He slogs a loose shot on the first delivery but it clears the fielder for before he drives one straight past the bowler for the same result.

Delhi Daredevils have won the toss and will bat first

Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay, Micahel Hussey, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Albie Morkel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ben Hilfenhaus, Shadab Jakati, S Badrinath

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Mahela Jayawardene, Naman Ojha, Ross Taylor, Y Venugopal Rao, Sunny Gupta, Pawan Negi, Varun Aaron, Umesh Yadav, Andre Russell

Published Date: May 25, 2012 23:20 PM | Updated Date: May 25, 2012 23:25 PM

Also See