As it happened: Mumbai beat Chennai in a thriller

If you are accessing this page on your mobile phone, CLICK HERE

This is where the Indian Premier League truly begins for a lot of people. The moment Chennai Super Kings step into the fray is the point in the tournament when everyone stops to look.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni's team has been the most consistent side in the IPL over the years -- having won it twice in 2010 and 2011. They are also the most stable side -- the big players have remained unchanged over the years and Dhoni knows exactly what he can expect out of them.

How will Dhoni's team start IPL 6? AFP

How will Dhoni's team start IPL 6? AFP

Mumbai, on the other hand, remain a side that just keeps experimenting. The batting positions change, the bowlers keep going out of the team and no one is quite sure of what they are expected to do.

It's still early days but Mumbai will hope coach John Wright alongwith Ponting and mentor Anil Kumble can help them settle down as a team.

The match begins at 2000 hrs IST.

Teams (from)

Mumbai Indians: Ricky Ponting (c), Abu Nechim Ahmed, Akshar Patel, Aditya Tare, Aiden Blizzard, Ambati Rayudu, Amitoze Singh, Dhawal Kulkarni, Dinesh Karthik, Dwayne Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Harbhajan Singh, Jacob Oram, Jalaj Saxena, James Franklin, Kieron Pollard, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson, Munaf Patel, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Phil Hughes, Pawan Suyal, Pragyan Ojha, Rishi Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Sachin Tendulkar, Suryakumar Yadav, Sushant Marathe, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal.

Chennai Super Kings: MS Dhoni (c/wk), Srikkanth Anirudha Baba Aparajith, Ravichandran Ashwin, Subramaniam Badrinath, Dwayne Bravo, Akila Dananjaya, Faf du Plessis, Ben Hilfenhaus, Jason Holder, Michael Hussey, Imtiaz Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, R Karthikeyan, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ben Laughlin, Ronit More, Albie Morkel, Chris Morris, Dirk Nannes, Suresh Raina, Ankit Rajpoot, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Vijay Shankar, Mohit Sharma, Murali Vijay.

Published Date: Apr 06, 2013 23:55 PM | Updated Date: Apr 06, 2013 23:59 PM

Also See