IPL 2017 stats preview: From RCB's victory margins to KKR's success streak, a look at team records

Everyone remembers records of individual players because they are mostly eye-catching. But cricket is a team sport. It's hard to understand why fans don't often remember records which were broken and created by teams. Everyone knows that Virat Kohli holds the record of scoring most runs in Indian Premier League (IPL) history but most of them don't know which team has won most matches on the trot in the tournament.

Even if you have followed your team and cricket in general, some of the numbers from the past nine seasons of the IPL will startle you. Here's a comprehensive catalogue of IPL team stats.

Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians, all have won an IPL title twice while Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have won it once.

ipl graph 1

Chennai Super Kings have the best win percentage in IPL history while Mumbai Indians have won most matches in the tournament.

ipl graph 2

Royal Challengers Bangalore have scored 225-plus runs in the IPL five times, which is a record.

ipl graph 3

Kolkata Knight Riders have scored less than 75 runs thrice, which again is a record.

ipl graph 4

The Kolkata franchise also hold the record of winning most consecutive matches in the IPL. Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders are the only teams to win six or more consecutive matches twice.

ipl graph 5

Pune Warriors India are the only team to lose more than eight consecutive matches twice in the tournament.

ipl graph 6

Mumbai Indians had won 10 consecutive matches at the Wankhede Stadium between 9 April, 2013 and 6 May, 2014 which is the joint most by any team at a venue in the IPL. Chennai Super Kings had also won 10 consecutive matches at the Chepauk between 22 April, 2013 and 4 May, 2015.

ipl graph 7

The 2009 champions Deccan Charges had lost a record eight consecutive matches at Hyderabad (RG) between 22 April, 2008 and 9 April, 2011.

ipl graph 8

Royal Challengers Bangalore are the only team to register a win by a margin of more than 100 runs thrice in IPL history.

ipl graph 9

Mumbai Indians hold the record of registering largest victory in terms of balls remaining, having beaten Kolkata Knight Riders at Mumbai in 2008 with 87 balls remaining.

ipl graph 10

There are only eight instances in the tournament when a team has won the match by 10 wickets.

ipl graph 11

There are only seven instances when a team has won the match by one run. Kings XI Punjab have achieved the feat twice.

ipl graph 12

Kolkata Knight Riders are the only team to win a match by one wicket.

ipl graph 13

There are six matches registered in IPL history which have ended in a tie. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals and Kings XI Punjab, all have played two tied matches till date.

ipl graph 14

ipl graph 15

Published Date: Apr 05, 2017 04:31 pm | Updated Date: Apr 05, 2017 05:00 pm

Also See