Asian Champions Trophy 2016: Full schedule, when and where to watch, live coverage on TV, online streaming

The 2016 Asian Men's Hockey Champions Trophy will be held in Malaysia, Kuantan District. This is the 4th edition of the tournament for men. The top Six Asian teams — Pakistan, China, India, Japan, South Korea and Malaysia — will participate in the tournament. It starts off on 20 October and the champions will be crowned on 30 October. The venue for the event is Wisma Belia Hockey Stadium in Malaysia.

India will take on defending champions Pakistan in the Asian Champions Trophy. Image courtesy: Twitter/@FIH

India will take on defending champions Pakistan in the Asian Champions Trophy. Image courtesy: Twitter/@FIH

The format involves round-robin league matches among all teams followed by play-offs amongst the top four teams for the final. Hosts Malaysia will face Pakistan in the opening match of the tournament on 20 October. Both the semi-finals are scheduled for 29 October and the final will be held on 30 October. Pakistan are the defending champions.

Asian Games gold medalists India start as the overwhelming favourites to reclaim the trophy. Winners of the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy at Ordos five years ago, India have since then been indifferent in fielding their best squad for this competition, which suffered from lack of enthusiasm among the continent's hockey elite.

Where and when to watch:

The round robin matches will be held at 3:30 PM and 6:00 PM from 20 to 27 October. India's first match is on Thursday against Japan. The matches will be telecast on Star Sports 4 and Star Sports HD4 in India. They can also be streamed online on

Full Schedule (All timings are in IST):

 Date Time Match Fixture
 20 October 15:30 Match 1 Malaysia va Pakistan
 18:00 Match 2 India vs Japan
 21 October 15:30 Match 3 Pakistan vs Korea
 18:00 Match 4 Malaysia vs China
 22 October 15:30 Match 5 India vs Korea
 18:00 Match 6 China vs Japan
 23 October 15:30 Match 7 India vs Pakistan
 18:00 Match 8 Malaysia vs Japan
 24 October 15:30 Match 9 Korea vs China
 25 October 15:30 Match 10 Pakistan vs Japan
 18:00 Match 11 India vs China
 26 October 15:30 Match 12 Korea vs Japan
 18:00 Match 13 Malaysia vs India
 27 October 15:30 Match 14 Pakistan vs China
 18:00 Match 15 Korea vs Malaysia
 29 October 15:30 Match 16 5/6 Place Match
 13:00 Match 17 Semi-final 1
 18:00 Match 18 Semi-final 2
 30 October 15:30 Match 19 3/4 Place Match
 18:00 Match 20 Final

You can download the full schedule of the tournament here.

Published Date: Oct 19, 2016 10:49 pm | Updated Date: Oct 19, 2016 10:52 pm

Also See