Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2016: A complete list of key candidates and constituencies

The 2017 Uttarakhand Assembly election witnessed the presence of friends-turned-foes and entangled relationships in the fray in many constituencies. The polls were held on 15 February.

The hill state of Uttarakhand, which was largely in the news for last year's constitutional crisis and ensuing President's Rule that was subsequently quashed, will be a referendum on Chief Minister Harish Rawat's popularity. The state is important for both Congress and BJP. While the former will hope to be the first party to buck the trend of anti-incumbency in Uttarakhand, BJP has poached several former Congress leaders and will bank on these personalities to mount a comeback.

Here's a list of the major candidates in the fray:

ChaubattakhalSatpal Maharaj (BJP)Member of 15th Lok Sabha from INC; joined BJP in March 2014GarhwalGarhwalBJPBJPGarhwal
KedarnathShailarani Rawat (BJP)Congress MLA; joined BJP after Uttarakhand political crisisGarhwalChamoliINCBJPGarhwal
RanikhetAjay Bhatt (BJP)State BJP president and Leader of Opposition in Uttarakhand AssemblyAlmoraAlmoraBJPBJPKumaon
SitarganjSaurabh Bahuguna (BJP)Son of Former Uttarakhand CM Vijay BahugunaNainital-Udhamsingh NagarUdham Singh NagarBJPBJPMaidan
JageshwarGovind Singh Kunjwal (INC)Speaker of Uttarakhand AssemblyAlmoraAlmoraINCINCKumaon
SahaspurKishore Upadhyay (INC)President of the Uttarakhand Pradesh Congress CommitteeTehri GarhwalDehradunBJPBJPMaidan
BhagwanpurMamata Rakesh (INC)She is fighting against her brother-in-law, BJP candidate Subodh Rakesh. Her late husband was an MLA, and died of cancer in April 2016.HaridwarHaridwarBSPINCMaidan
NainitalSanjeev Arya (BJP)He is the son of Yashpal Arya, a minister in the current Harish Rawat government. His son joined BJP in January 2017Nainital-Udhamsingh NagarNainitalINCBJPKumaon
Haridwar (Rural)Harish Rawat (INC)He is the current chief ministerHaridwarHaridwarBJPBJPMaidan
KicchaHarish Rawat (INC)He is the current chief ministerNainital-Udhamsingh NagarUdham Singh NagarBJPBJPMaidan
KotdwarSurender Singh Negi (INC)Health minister in the government. In 2012, he defeated former CM BC Khanduri of BJPGarhwalGarhwalINCBJPGarhwal
RaipurUmesh Sharma Kau (BJP)One the Congress MLAs who revolted against the party last yearTehri GarhwalDehradunINCBJPMaidan
YamunotriKedar Singh (BJP)The BJP has never won this seat and will try to wrest it this time on the strength of the former Congress stateTehri GarhwalUttarkashiUKDBJPGarhwal
Karn PrayagSurender Singh Negi (INC)He contested as an Independent candidate in 2012 and lost to Anusuya Maikhuri by only 227 votes. He's contesting as BJP candidate this time.GarhwalChamoliINCBJPGarhwal
Dehradun CanttSuryakant Dhasmana (INC)He was against the creation of the stateTehri GarhwalDehradunBJPBJPMaidan
HaridwarBrahamswaroop Brahmachari (INC)He is the head of Jai Ram AshramHaridwarHaridwarBJPBJPMaidan
MussoorieGanesh Joshi (BJP)He had been embroiled in a controversy after a video emerged of him hitting a police horse went viral last year. He's been given a ticket again though many were against it.Tehri GarhwalDehrarunBJPBJPGarhwal
RishikeshRajpal Singh Kharola (INC)He is considered to be close to Rahul Gandhi, and is pinning his hopes on rebellion in the BJP ranksHaridwarDehradunBJPBJPMaidan
RoorkeePradeep Batra (BJP)He is a Congress rebel and had defeated two-time BJP legislator Suresh Chand Jain in the last Assembly electionsHaridwarHaridwarINCBJPMaidan
RamnagarRanjeet Rawat (INC)He is regarded as Harish Rawat's closest confidanteGarhwalNainitalINCBJPMaidan

Published Date: Mar 10, 2017 12:06 pm | Updated Date: Mar 10, 2017 12:06 pm

Also See