UP Cabinet distribution: Yogi Adityanath keeps home ministry, rewards turncoats with portfolios

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath on Wednesday allocated portfolios to his cabinet colleagues keeping over three dozen departments including the Home ministry with himself.

File image of Yogi Adityanath. Image courtesy: CNN-News18

File image of Yogi Adityanath. Image courtesy: CNN-News18

Adityanath also kept the Information, Housing and Urban planning, Food and Civil Supplies, Mining, Personnel, Institutional Finance, Estate and several other departments according to the the list released by Governor Ram Naik on Wednesday.

Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya has been given the Public Works Department (PWD), Food Processing, Entertainment Tax and Public Enterprises Department. The other Deputy CM, Dinesh Sharma was given Higher and Secondary Education, Science and Technology, Electronics and IT departments.

The key Finance portfolio went to Rajesh Agarwal, while Sidhharth Nath Singh has got Medical and Health department.

Among the 22 cabinet ministers, Surya Pratap Shahi got Agriculture and agriculture research, Suresh Kumar Khanna — Urban Development, Parliamentary Affairs, Swami Prasad Maurya - Labour, Urban Employment and Poverty Alleviation while Satish Mahana got Industrial Development.

Rita Bahuguna Joshi got Women and Family Welfare, Women and Child Development and Tourism, Dara Singh Chauhan has been given Forest and Environment, Zoological Gardens, Dharampal Singh - Irrigation, SP Singh Baghel - Fisheries, Minor

Irrigation and Animal Husbandry while Satyadev Pachauri got Khadi Gramodyog, Silk and Export Promotion.

Here is a list of key portfolios given to cabinet ministers and the ones retained by the chief minister and deputy chief ministers.

Yogi AdityanathHome Ministry
Consumer Protection
Housing and Urban Planning Department
Food and Ration
Keshav Prasad MauryaPublic Works Department minister
Food Processing
Entertainment Tax
Public Enterprise Department
Dinesh SharmaInformation Technology
Middle and Higher Education
Chetan ChouhanSports and Youth development
Professional Eductaion
Skill Development
Laxmi Narayan ChaudharyDairy development
Religious works and culture
Srikant SharmaEnergy
SP Singh BaghelAnimal Husbandry
Rajesh AgarwalFinance
Rita Bahuguna JoshiWomen Child and Family welfare
Suresh KhannaParliamentary Affairs
Urban development
Dharampal SinghIrrigation
Brajesh PathakLaw and Justice
Mukut Bihri VermaCooperative Department
Surya Pratap ShahiAgriculture, Agricultural research and Education
Swami Prasad MauryaUrban Employment and Poverty Alleviation
Labour and Public Service Department
Satish MahanaIndustrial development
Dara Singh ChauhanForest and Environment
Satyadev PachauriKhadi and Textile development
Ramapati ShastriSocial Welfare
Scheduled Caste and Scheduled tribe welfare
Jai Prakash SinghExcise
Om Prakash RajbharBackward Class Welfare
Rajendra Pratap SinghRural Engineering Services
Siddharth Nath SinghHealthcare
Nand Kumar NandiStamp and Judicial Revenue


Cabinet ministers Ramapati Shastri got SC/ST welfare while Jai Prakash Singh got charge of the Excise department. Om Prakash Rajbhar got Backward Castes and Handicap
Welfare, Brijesh Pathak - Law and Justice, Political Pension, Renewable Energy, Lakshmi Narain Chowdhury - Milk Development, Religious Endowment Culture, Minority Welfare, Chetan Chauhan - Sports and Youth Welfare, Srikant Sharma - Power, Rajendra Pratap Singh alias Moti Singh - Rural Engineering Department, Mukut Bihari Verma - Cooperative, Ashutosh Tondon - Technical and Medical Education and Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi - Stamp and Court Fees, Registration and Civil Aviation departments.

The lone Muslim face in the council of ministers, Mohsin Raza got Science and Technology, Electronics, IT, Muslim Waqf and Haj.

Among the nine Ministers of State (Independent charge) Anupma Jaiswal got Basic Education, Child Development and Nutrition, Finance, Revenue, Suresh Rana - Cane Development, Sugar Mills and Industrial Development, Upendra Tiwari - Environment, Water Supply, Land Development and Water Resources and Forest, Mahendra Kumar Singh - Rural development, Medical and Health, Swatantra Dev Singh - Transport, Protocol and Power, Bhupendra Singh Chowdhury - Panchyati Raj, PWD, Dharam Singh Saini - Ayush, Rehabilitation, Anil Rajbhar - Armymen Welfare, Homeguards, Food Processing, Civil Defence and Swati Singh - NRI Department, Flood Control, Agriculture Export, Marketing, Women and Family welfare and Mother and Child Development departments.

Besides, 13 ministers of state were also given portfolios. The Adityanath government has 25 cabinet ministers, nine ministers of state (independent charge) and 13 ministers of state.

Published Date: Mar 22, 2017 07:53 pm | Updated Date: Mar 22, 2017 07:53 pm

Also See