Raja, Kalmadi made members of Parliamentary Committees

New Delhi: Former Union Minister A Raja, the main accused in 2G spectrum scam, and Suresh Kalmadi, accused in the Commonwealth Games scam, have been made members of two separate Parliamentary Standing Committees.

In the latest panel reshuffle, Kalmadi, Congress member of the Lok Sabha, was included in the standing committee on external affairs while Raja,  who represents DMK in the Lok Sabha, received a berth in the energy committee.

The Parliamentary Standing Committees examine the bills and give suggestions to the proposed legislations related to the ministries concerned.

A Raja. Reuters

Raja, who was arrested in connection with the 2G scam on February 2 last year, is on bail since May 15 this year. Kalmadi also spent about nine months in jail before being released on bail on January 19 this year.

DMK MP Kanimozhi, who was also accused in some cases related to the 2G spectrum allocation, has been nominated to the Standing Committee on Home Affairs.

In the reconstitution of various Committees, Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi has been made a member of the Standing Committee on Finance headed by BJP leader Yashwant Sinha. Earlier, he was a member of the Committee on HRD.

The reconstitution of the Committees also saw DMK's Tiruchi Siva being made the Chairman of the Standing Committee on Industry, while BSP's Brajesh Pathak has been made the Chairman on the Standing Committee on Health and Family Welfare. BSP leader Dara Singh Chauhan, who chaired the Standing Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment, has been shifted to the Committee on Labour.

Congress member Hemananda Biswal will be the new Chairman of the Committee on Social Justice and Empowerment. Independent MP Madhu Koda, who is in Ranhci jail in connection with money laundering cases, has not been made member of any committee.


Published Date: Oct 03, 2012 16:57 PM | Updated Date: Oct 03, 2012 16:57 PM

Also See