Punjab Election Results 2017: Here's how top candidates fared in the Assembly poll

Captain Amarinder Singh has succeeded in resurrecting Congress in Punjab. Riding on a high incumbency wave and anger against the Badals and the Shiromani Akali Dal-Bharatiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) alliance, Singh flinched success for the national party in Punjab which went for polling along with four other states in February and March this year.

Captain Amarinder Singh (left) with Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi. PTI

Captain Amarinder Singh (left) with Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi. PTI

Congress won 77 seats at the end of counting in Punjab on Saturday. The Aam Admi Party came second with 20 seats.

Speaking to CNN-News18, Singh had said, "I had expected 66 plus or minus seat, but we have gotten way above our expectations. In fact, our poll strategist Prashant Kishore has said that if the bubble of AAP burst we will cross 70, but else it will be somewhere around 66."

"People have given me bonus seats," he added.

After a bitter political battle that went on for months between parties, which involved mud-slinging, allegations, counter-allegations, half-truths and downright lies, Congress had made a slow start in the state as compared to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), but caught up fast thanks to the relentless campaigning by Captain Amarinder Singh and other Congress leaders in the state.

Earlier, exit polls had predicted a close contest between AAP and Congress. The India Today-Axis My India poll was the only exit poll which had predicted a clear majority for the Congress and said the party was likely to win 62-71 seats, the closest to what counting of votes has revealed so far.

Aam Aadmi Party which was expected to give a tough fight to Congress according to exit polls has won 17 seats and is leading in 6 seats. The Times Now-VMR and CVoter India predicted AAP as victorious winning 61 and 59-67 seats respectively. The two exit polls predicted 48 and 41-49 seats for Congress and 7 and 5-13 seats for the SAD-BJP alliance respectively. SAD managed wins in just eight seats and is leading in nine seats.

Here's a list of the top constituencies who will seal the fate of some high-profile candidates of the parties.

AC NameWinner CandidateWinner PartyLoser CandidateLoser PartyVote Margin
FazilkaDavinder Singh GhubayaCongressSurjit Kumar JyaniBJP265
Dera Baba NanakSukhjinder Singh RandhawaCongressSucha Singh LangahSAD1,194
BudhladaBudh RamAAPRanjit Kaur BhattiCongress1,276
Ludhiana EastSanjeev TalwarCongressDaljit Singh Grewal (Bhola)AAP1,581
DirbaHarpal Singh CheemaAAPAjaib Singh RatolanCongress1,645
PhagwaraSom ParkashBJPJoginder Singh MannCongress2,009
KhararKanwar SandhuAAPJagmohan Singh KangCongress2,012
BarnalaGurmeet Singh Meet HaherAAPKewal Singh DhillonCongress2,432
DhuriDalvir Singh GoldyCongressJasvir Singh Jassi SekhonAAP2,811
AboharArun NarangBJPSunil JakharCongress3,279
NawanshahrAngad SinghCongressJarnail Singh WahidSAD3,323
PhillaurBaldev Singh KhairaSADVikramjit Singh ChaudharyCongress3,477
DakhaHarvinder Singh PhoolkaAAPManpreet Singh AyaliSAD4,169
SahnewalSharanjit Singh DhillonSADSatwinder Kaur BittiCongress4,551
BalluanaNathu RamCongressParkash Singh BhattiSAD15449
MaloutAjaib Singh BhattiCongressDarshan SinghSAD4,989
Ludhiana NorthRakesh PandeyCongressParveen BansalBJP5,132
Baba BakalaSantokh SinghCongressDalbir Singh TongAAP6587
Bhagha PuranaDarshan Singh BrarCongressGurbinder Singh KangAAP7,250
AdampurPawan Kumar TinuSADMohinder Singh KaypeeCongress7,699
MuktsarKanwarjit SinghSADKaran KaurCongress7,980
Sultanpur LodhiNavtej Singh CheemaCongressUpinderjit KaurSAD8,162
BholathSukhpal Singh KhairaAAPYuvraj Bhupinder SinghSAD8,202
GillKuldeep Singh Vaid(Bulara)CongressJiwan Singh SangowalAAP8,641
SardulgarhDilraj SinghSADAjit Inder SinghCongress8,857
PathankotAmitCongressAshwani KumarBJP11,170
HoshiarpurSunder Sham AroraCongressTikshan SudBJP11,233
FaridkotKusaldeep Singh Kiki DhillonCongressGurdit Singh SekhonAAP11,659
QadianFatehjang Singh BajwaCongressSewa SinghSAD11,737
AmargarhSurjit Singh DhimanCongressIqbal Singh JhundanSAD11,879
Chamkaur SahibCharanjit Singh ChanniCongressCharanjit SinghAAP12,308
MalerkotlaRazia SultanaCongressMohammad OwaisSAD12,702
Tarn TaranDr. Dharambir AgnihotriCongressHarmeet Singh SandhuSAD14,629
MaurJagdev SinghAAPJanmeja Singh SekhonSAD14,677
GidderbahaAmrinder Singh @ Raja WarringCongressHardeep Singh @ Dimpy DhillonSAD16,212
Atam NagarSimarjeet Singh BainsLok Insaaf PartyKamal Jit Singh KarwalCongress16,913
Sri HargobindpurBalwinder SinghCongressManjit SinghSAD18,065
NakodarGurpratap Singh WadalaSADSarwan Singh HayerAAP18,407
JandialaSukhwinder Singh Danny BandalaCongressDalbir SinghSAD18,422
Bathinda UrbanManpreet Singh BadalCongressDeepak BansalAAP18,480
JalalabadSukhbir Singh BadalSADBhagwant MannAAP18,500
Talwandi SaboProf. Baljinder KaurAAPKhushbaz Singh JatanaCongress19,293
Khem KaranSukhpal Singh BhullarCongressVirsa SinghSAD19,602
MansaNazar Singh ManshahiaAAPManoj BalaCongress20,469
Amritsar CentralOm Parkash SoniCongressTarun ChughBJP21,116
LambiParkash SinghSADAmarinder SinghCongress22,770
MajithaBikram Singh MajithiaSADSukhjinder Raj Singh (Lalli)Congress22,884
Nihal SinghwalaManjit SinghAAPRajwinder KaurCongress27,574
S.A.S.NagarBalbir Singh SidhuCongressNarinder SinghAAP27,873
KapurthalaRana Gurjit SinghCongressAdvocate Paramjit SinghSAD28,817
SangrurVijay Inder SinglaCongressDinesh BansalAAP30,812
Ludhiana SouthBalvinder Singh BainsLok Insaaf PartyBhupinder Singh SidhuCongress30,917
Dina NagarAruna ChaudharyCongressBishan DassBJP31,917
Amritsar EastNavjot Singh SidhuCongressRajesh Kumar HoneyBJP42,809
PatialaAmarinder SinghCongressDr.Balbir SinghAAP52,407
Amritsar NorthSunil DuttiCongressAnil JoshiBJP6,497

To see how the counting day progressed on Saturday, click here to read our election blog.

Published Date: Mar 11, 2017 06:55 pm | Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 09:43 pm

Also See