Punjab Election 2017: Here are top constituencies that heated up the state's political potpourri

The long-drawn electoral battle in Punjab will come to a conclusion with counting set to begin at 8 am on Saturday. The 2017 poll battle was different from previous elections in many ways, right from the key poll issues that defined campaigning in the northwestern state or the four main parties whose fate will be declared on Saturday.

Punjab, which had mostly seen a contest between Shiromani Akali Dal-Bhartiya Janata Party (SAD-BJP) alliance and the Indian National Congress over the last few decades, added a third front in this election with the entrance of Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party.

Congress Party State President, Captain Amarinder Singh. PTI

Congress Party State President, Captain Amarinder Singh. PTI

There are a total of 1,145 candidates in the fray, with all the top-three contenders Congress, SAD-BJP alliance as well as AAP fielding 117 candidates. The agrarian state is likely to witness the biggest shake-up with Saturday ready to decide the fate of several high-profile candidates from all the parties including incumbent Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal of SAD, Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir Singh Badal from Jalalabad, Parkash Singh Bhatti from Balluna and Hardeep Singh 'Dimpy' Dhillon from Giddarbaha.

SAD is fighting on 94 of the 117 seats while 23 seats have been given to the alliance partner, the BJP. Some of the high-profile candidates include Dinesh Singh Babbu, Ashwani Sharma, Seema Kumari, KD Bhandari and Sukhjeet Kaur Sahi.

Captain Amarinder Singh is the chief ministerial candidate for Congress and will be contesting from Patiala as well as from SAD leader and incumbent Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal's home turf Lambi. Among some of the high-profile candidates and new entrants, Congress will see former SAD leader Manpreet Singh Badal (estranged nephew of Parkash Singh Badal) contesting from Bathinda Urban Assembly, Vijay Inder Singla from Sangrur, incumbent Sunil Jakhar from Abohar, Sukhjinder Raj Singh Lalli Majithia from Majithia, Jagmohan Singh Kang, Amrik Singh Dhillon, Amrinder Singh Raja Warring from Gidderbaha, Karan Kaur Brar from Muktsar, Mohammad Sadique from Bhadaur SC, Ajaib Singh Bhatti from Malout SC, Inderbir Singh Bolaria from Amritsar South, Manju Bansal from Mansa and Sanjay Talwar from Ludhiana East. Cricketer Navjot Singh Sidhu who joined Congress right before the election contested from Amritsar East.

As for AAP, which is largely been seen as the outsider party in the current election has fielded a mix of activists, doctors and lawyers led by Bhagwant Mann, who challenged SAD's Sukhbir Singh Badal and Congress' Ravneet Singh Bittu. Other prominent faces in APP includes Supreme Court lawyer HS Phoolka from Dakha constituency in Ludhiana, Himmat Singh Shergill from SAS Nagar (Mohali) constituency, Sarabjit Kaur, wife of former finance minister in the Akali government Captain Kanwaljit Singh from Dera Bassi.

Another prominent candidate in the fray is Sucha Singh Chhotepur from Gurdaspur who is contesting against two-time sitting SAD MLA Gurbachan SIngh Babbehali, Congress' Barindollt Singh Pahra and AAP's Amarjeet Singh Chahal.

Even though the exit polls on Thursday predicted a close battle between Congress and AAP, parties like the Communist Party of India — Marxist (CPM), Communist Party of India — Marxist Liberation (CPI-ML), Aapna Punjab Party (APP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Punjab Front, Trinamool Congress (TMC), Punjab United (PU), Akali Dal (AD), Apna Punjab (AP), Jai Jawan Jai Kisan Party (JJJKP), Swabhiman Party (SP) and Janta Dal United (JDU) can also play a crucial role if the state sees hung Assembly. This is even though the polls predicted very few seats for these parties.

Other political outfits in the fray include BSP, former AAP leader Sucha Singh Chhotepur-led Apna Punjab Party, the Left comprising CPI and CPI-M, and SAD-Amritsar.

ConstituencyWinner CandidateWinner PartyLoser CandidateLoser PartyVote Margin
FazilkaDavinder Singh GhubayaCongressSurjit Kumar JyaniBJP265
Dera Baba NanakSukhjinder Singh RandhawaCongressSucha Singh LangahSAD1,194
BudhladaBudh RamAAPRanjit Kaur BhattiCongress1,276
Ludhiana EastSanjeev TalwarCongressDaljit Singh Grewal (Bhola)AAP1,581
DirbaHarpal Singh CheemaAAPAjaib Singh RatolanCongress1,645
PhagwaraSom ParkashBJPJoginder Singh MannCongress2,009
KhararKanwar SandhuAAPJagmohan Singh KangCongress2,012
BarnalaGurmeet Singh Meet HaherAAPKewal Singh DhillonCongress2,432
DhuriDalvir Singh GoldyCongressJasvir Singh Jassi SekhonAAP2,811
AboharArun NarangBJPSunil JakharCongress3,279
NawanshahrAngad SinghCongressJarnail Singh WahidSAD3,323
PhillaurBaldev Singh KhairaSADVikramjit Singh ChaudharyCongress3,477
DakhaHarvinder Singh PhoolkaAAPManpreet Singh AyaliSAD4,169
SahnewalSharanjit Singh DhillonSADSatwinder Kaur BittiCongress4,551
BalluanaNathu RamCongressParkash Singh BhattiSAD15449
MaloutAjaib Singh BhattiCongressDarshan SinghSAD4,989
Ludhiana NorthRakesh PandeyCongressParveen BansalBJP5,132
Baba BakalaSantokh SinghCongressDalbir Singh TongAAP6587
Bhagha PuranaDarshan Singh BrarCongressGurbinder Singh KangAAP7,250
AdampurPawan Kumar TinuSADMohinder Singh KaypeeCongress7,699
MuktsarKanwarjit SinghSADKaran KaurCongress7,980
Sultanpur LodhiNavtej Singh CheemaCongressUpinderjit KaurSAD8,162
BholathSukhpal Singh KhairaAAPYuvraj Bhupinder SinghSAD8,202
GillKuldeep Singh Vaid(Bulara)CongressJiwan Singh SangowalAAP8,641
SardulgarhDilraj SinghSADAjit Inder SinghCongress8,857
PathankotAmitCongressAshwani KumarBJP11,170
HoshiarpurSunder Sham AroraCongressTikshan SudBJP11,233
FaridkotKusaldeep Singh Kiki DhillonCongressGurdit Singh SekhonAAP11,659
QadianFatehjang Singh BajwaCongressSewa SinghSAD11,737
AmargarhSurjit Singh DhimanCongressIqbal Singh JhundanSAD11,879
Chamkaur SahibCharanjit Singh ChanniCongressCharanjit SinghAAP12,308
MalerkotlaRazia SultanaCongressMohammad OwaisSAD12,702
Tarn TaranDr. Dharambir AgnihotriCongressHarmeet Singh SandhuSAD14,629
MaurJagdev SinghAAPJanmeja Singh SekhonSAD14,677
GidderbahaAmrinder Singh @ Raja WarringCongressHardeep Singh @ Dimpy DhillonSAD16,212
Atam NagarSimarjeet Singh BainsLok Insaaf PartyKamal Jit Singh KarwalCongress16,913
Sri HargobindpurBalwinder SinghCongressManjit SinghSAD18,065
NakodarGurpratap Singh WadalaSADSarwan Singh HayerAAP18,407
JandialaSukhwinder Singh Danny BandalaCongressDalbir SinghSAD18,422
Bathinda UrbanManpreet Singh BadalCongressDeepak BansalAAP18,480
JalalabadSukhbir Singh BadalSADBhagwant MannAAP18,500
Talwandi SaboProf. Baljinder KaurAAPKhushbaz Singh JatanaCongress19,293
Khem KaranSukhpal Singh BhullarCongressVirsa SinghSAD19,602
MansaNazar Singh ManshahiaAAPManoj BalaCongress20,469
Amritsar CentralOm Parkash SoniCongressTarun ChughBJP21,116
LambiParkash SinghSADAmarinder SinghCongress22,770
MajithaBikram Singh MajithiaSADSukhjinder Raj Singh (Lalli)Congress22,884
Nihal SinghwalaManjit SinghAAPRajwinder KaurCongress27,574
S.A.S.NagarBalbir Singh SidhuCongressNarinder SinghAAP27,873
KapurthalaRana Gurjit SinghCongressAdvocate Paramjit SinghSAD28,817
SangrurVijay Inder SinglaCongressDinesh BansalAAP30,812
Ludhiana SouthBalvinder Singh BainsLok Insaaf PartyBhupinder Singh SidhuCongress30,917
Dina NagarAruna ChaudharyCongressBishan DassBJP31,917
Amritsar EastNavjot Singh SidhuCongressRajesh Kumar HoneyBJP42,809
PatialaAmarinder SinghCongressDr.Balbir SinghAAP52,407
Amritsar NorthSunil DuttiCongressAnil JoshiBJP6,497

To see how the counting day progressed on Saturday, click here to read our election blog.

Published Date: Mar 11, 2017 09:42 pm | Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 09:42 pm

Also See