In association with

Presidential Election 2017: Pinarayi Vijayan, MLAs vote in Kerala Assembly

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Leader of Opposition in the state assembly Ramesh Chennithala and legislators from the state cast their vote in the presidential election in Thiruvananthapuram on Monday.

Vijayan and his cabinet colleagues along with CPM-led ruling LDF legislators exercised their vote at the state assembly.

File image of Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan. PTI

File image of Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan. PTI

CPM veteran and former chief minister VS Achuthanandan and Congress leader Oommen Chandy were among prominent MLAs to cast their votes, assembly officials said.

The lone BJP MLA O Rajagopal was among the early voters.

In the 140-member assembly, Vengara seat in Malapuram is vacant after incumbent MLA PK Kunhalikutty resigned after his election to the Lok Sabha from Malappuram Lok Sabha seat that fell vacant following death of IUML leader E Ahmed.

From Kerala, NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind is only expected to secure the vote of the lone BJP MLA.

The ruling CPM-led LDF and Congress headed UDF Opposition had announced their decision to back the united opposition candidate and former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar.

Kerala Congress(M) led by former finance minister KM Mani, which had snapped ties with the UDF, also extended its support to Kumar.

Similarly, the lone independent MLA PC George had also announced his backing to Kumar. The voting will end at 5 PM.

Published Date: Jul 17, 2017 17:00 PM | Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 17:05 PM

Also See