Presidential Election 2017: Jharkhand independent legislators vote for Ram Nath Kovind

Ranchi: Three independent legislators cast their votes in Ranchi on Monday in favour of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind in the Presidential election.

The three independent legislators who voted in favour of the NDA candidate are Geeta Koda, Bhanu Pratap Shahi and Enos Ekka.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

"We voted in favour of the NDA candidate. The president should be elected by consensus," Geeta Koda told the media in Ranchi.

Of the 81 state legislators, 80 have cast their votes in the premises of the Jharkhand assembly where the polling is underway.

Three jailed legislators voted after taking permission from the court. They were BJP's Sanjiv Singh, facing a murder case; Pradeep Yadav of the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik; and Independent legislator Enos Ekka, also facing a murder case.

Pradeep Yadav is in jail in connection with a case related to instigating villagers against Adani Power in Godda district.

NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind for the Presidential poll is likely to get the vote of 50 legislators.

"NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind's victory is 200 per cent guaranteed. His election indicates a common man can become the President of India," chief minister Raghubar Das said after casting his vote.

Former chief minister and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) executive president Hemant Soren, who is leader of Opposition in the assembly, said it is a "fight of ideology".

Published Date: Jul 17, 2017 14:40 PM | Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 14:40 PM

Also See