In association with

Nominations of all presidential candidates, except Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar, rejected

New Delhi: The nominations of all presidential candidates, barring those of NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition-backed Meira Kumar, were rejected on Thursday.

About 95 persons had filed their nominations, including Kumar and Kovind.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind.

Except for the two main contenders, the nominations of the rest were rejected as none of them were proposed and backed by the required number of members of the electoral college, according to sources in the Lok Sabha secretariat.

The nominations were rejected in the scrutiny process initiated on Thursday, they added.

According to the rules, a presidential candidate's nomination should be signed by at least 50 members of an electoral college as proposers and endorsed by as many.

MPs of Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and MLAs of all legislative assemblies are members of the electoral college.

This time, the Secretary-General of the Lok Sabha is the returning officer for the presidential election.

Published Date: Jun 29, 2017 17:52 PM | Updated Date: Jun 30, 2017 07:41 AM

Also See