Nagaland Assembly Election: 73% voter turnout in re-polling, election results to be announced tomorrow

Kohima: Around 73 percent voter turnout was reported in the re-polling at 13 polling stations across nine constituencies in Nagaland on Friday, an election department official said.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

"Altogether 5,728 voters out of the 7,841 exercised their franchise in the 13 polling stations. That means 73.05 percent votes were polled," said CEO Nagaland Abhijit Sinha in Kohima on Friday.

The voting passed off peacefully, he said.

Polling for 59 of the 60 Assembly seats was held in the northeastern state on 27 February. Former chief minister and NDDP president Neiphiu Rio has been declared elected uncontested from Northern Angami II seat.

The nine constituencies where re-polling were held were Tamlu, Peren, Kohima Town, Chizami, Phek, Meluri, Tizit, Pungro-Kiphire and Llongkhim-Chare.

Sinha said polling could not be held in one booth in Tamlu constituency on 27 February due to the alleged intervention of the Assam Police with claims that the booth falls under Disturbed Area Belt between Assam and Nagaland.

It was held on Friday at an alternative temporary structure following the direction of the Election Commission, the CEO said.

Re-polling was ordered in the other booths following reports of snatching of EVMs, misuse of electoral photo identity cards and miscreants not allowing voters to exercise their franchise.

Counting will be held on Saturday for all the 59 constituencies.

Published Date: Mar 02, 2018 20:44 PM | Updated Date: Mar 02, 2018 20:44 PM

Also See