In association with

Modi to be sworn in as chief minister on 26 Dec

Ahmedabad: Narendra Modi, who posted a resounding victory in the assembly elections, will be sworn in as Gujarat chief minister for the fourth time on 26 December.

Modi became chief minister for the first time on 1 October 2001 and subsequently in 2002 and 2007.

Modi drove to Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar today morning and submitted his resignation and that of his council of ministers to Governor Kamla Beniwal following constitution of the new House.

Gujarat Chief Minister-elect Narendra Modi. PTI

"As per the constitutional obligation, after the announcement of the results of the state assembly elections the Council of Ministers and chief minister as its head have tendered their resignations to the state Governor," Gujarat BJP spokesman Vijay Rupani said.

The out-going assembly was dissolved on Thursday by the Governor after the results of new assembly were declared.

BJP has won 115 seats in the 182-member House, 23 more than what is required for a simple majority.

"On 25 December a meeting of the newly-elected MLAs will be held to formally elect Narendra Modi as the leader of BJP legislature party," said Rupani.

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley is likely to present as an observer, he said, adding Modi would be administered the oath of office and secrecy on 26 December.

The swearing-in ceremony is likely to take place at Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad.


Published Date: Dec 21, 2012 15:42 PM | Updated Date: Dec 21, 2012 15:42 PM

Also See