Manipur Election Results 2017: Party-wise vote count reveals close contest between BJP, Congress

Congress is running in the pole position with BJP running a close second in the Manipur Assembly polls, as counting of votes progresses. According to IANS, out of 39 constituencies for which trends were available, the Congress was leading in 17, and the BJP in 14, while the Left was leading in four at 12.45 pm.

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

Representational image. Photo courtesy: Amukhomba Ngangbam

In the prestigious Thoubal constituency, Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh defeated his nearest BJP rival Leitanthem Basanta Singh and social activist Irom Sharmila, who received around 90 votes.

The dismal defeat of Irom Sharmila in Manipur Assembly election with only 90 votes in her hand marks the reality that the issue of repealing Afspa is hijacked by both the national parties Indian National Congress and Bharatiya Janata party.

Irom Sharmila’s defeat is seen in the light of both the national parties taking up the issue of Afspa with much importance in their manifestos.

Partywise Vote Share. Source: eciresults.nic

Partywise Vote Share. Source: eciresults.nic

As the election reaches its climax in Manipur, here is a look at the party wise break up of the results so far (Status Known For 38 out of 60 Constituencies):

Bharatiya Janata Party21012
Indian National Congress8816
Naga Peoples Front213
Lok Jan Shakti Party011
National People's Party224
North East India Development Party022

Here are the constituency-wise results in the state: (updated as per the latest results)

ConstituencyLeading CandidateLeading PartyMarginStatus
Bishnupur KONTHOUJAM GOVINDASIndian National Congress5278Counting In Progress
Chandel (st)LETPAO HAOKIPNational People's Party2099Counting In Progress
Churachandpur (ST)PHUNGZATHANG TONSINGNational People's Party177Counting In Progress
Heingang (GEN)NONGTHOMBAM BIREN SINGHBharatiya Janata Party1209Counting In Progress
Henglep (ST)T. THANGZALAM HAOKIPBharatiya Janata Party133Counting In Progress
Kangpokpi (Gen)NEMCHA KIPGENBharatiya Janata Party3335Counting In Progress
Karong (st)D.D. THAISIIIndian National Congress3286Counting In Progress
KeiraoLOUREMBAM RAMESHWOR MEETEIBharatiya Janata Party538Counting In Progress
KeishamthongLANGPOKLAKPAM JAYANTAKUMAR SINGHNational People's Party3262Counting In Progress
Khundrakpam (GEN)THOKCHOM LOKESHWAR SINGHIndian National Congress1609Counting In Progress
Khurai (GEN)LEISHANGTHEM SUSINDRO MEITEIBharatiya Janata Party112Counting In Progress
KonthoujamDR. SAPAM RANJAN SINGHBharatiya Janata Party2772Result Declared
KshetrigaoNAHAKPAM INDRAJIT SINGHBharatiya Janata Party882Counting In Progress
LamsangWANGKHEIMAYUM BRAJABIDHU SINGHIndian National Congress1326Counting In Progress
LangthabalKARAM SHYAMLok Jan Shakti Party2331Counting In Progress
LilongMUHAMMAD ABDUL NASIRIndian National Congress1268Result Declared
Mao (st)LOSII DIKHONaga Peoples Front15414Counting In Progress
MoirangPUKHREM SHARATCHANDRA SINGHBharatiya Janata Party622Counting In Progress
NambolNAMEIRAKPAM LOKEN SINGHIndian National Congress301Counting In Progress
PatsoiSAPAM KUNJAKESWOR (KEBA) SINGHNorth East India Development Party1332Counting In Progress
Phungyar (st)K. LEISHIYONaga Peoples Front4778Result Declared
Saikul (st)YAMTHONG HAOKIPIndian National Congress1178Counting In Progress
Saitu (ST)HAOKHOLET KIPGENBharatiya Janata Party343Counting In Progress
SekmaiHEIKHAM DINGO SINGHBharatiya Janata Party2532Result Declared
Tamei (ST)AWANGBOW NEWMAINaga Peoples Front1416Counting In Progress
Tamenglong (ST)SAMUEL JENDAI KAMEIBharatiya Janata Party1469Counting In Progress
Tengnoupal (st)D. KORUNGTHANGIndian National Congress4624Counting In Progress
ThangmeibandKHUMUKCHAM JOYKISAN SINGHIndian National Congress157Result Declared
ThoubalOKRAM IBOBI SINGHIndian National Congress10470Result Declared
Tipaimukh (st)DR. CHALTONLIEN AMOIndian National Congress626Result Declared
UripokYUMNAM JOYKUMAR SINGHNational People's Party345Result Declared
WangoiOINAM LUKHOI SINGHIndian National Congress36Counting In Progress
YaiskulELANGBAM CHAND SINGHIndian National Congress1Counting In Progress

Published Date: Mar 11, 2017 12:55 pm | Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 12:55 pm

Also See