Manipur Election Constituency Results 2017: Congress secures key wins in valley and hill districts

The latest counting trends reveal a close race in Manipur, with Congress and BJP locked at 14 seats each. The state is split in two distinct parts – the hills and the valley – and the key constituencies will play a crucial role in helping any party win.

The Nagas reside in the hills, the Meiteis in the valley. Between the hills and the valley, there are total 16 districts, seven of which were recently created by the Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh's government (for political gains).

Manipur has two parliamentary constituencies; Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur. The outer Manipur constituency is reserved for Scheduled tribe candidate. The Congress has consistently won the reserved constituency but the BJP has won the inner Manipur constituency from 1995 to 1999.

The Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency has 32 legislative assembly seats. The Outer Manipur has 28 legislative assembly seats.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

Some of the legislative Assembly constituencies in Outer Manipur are Heirok, Kakching, Khangabo, Jiribam, Thanlon, Tengnoupal, Tamenglong, and Singhat. Some of the constituencies in Inner Manipur are Khundrakpam, Andro, Wangkhei, Lamlai, Sagolband, Lamsang, Wangoi, Nambol, Mayang Imphal, Kumbi, and Thoubal.

The hill districts of Senapati and Tamenglong which have a greater population of the Naga community share their boundary with Nagaland. Tamenglong also shares its boundaries with Assam. Churachandpur is the only district which has proximity to Mizoram whereas Ukhrul and Chandel are the gateway to Myanmar.

Manipur has a population of around 2.3 million, majority of which are Meiteis living in the valley. The rest of the population is divided into Nagas, Kukis, Komrem and Meitei Pangal (Muslims).

Major political parties are trying to maintain a balancing act wooing the Nagas and the Meiteis.

Here are the constituency-wise results in the state:


ConstituencyConst. No.Leading CandidateLeading PartyTrailing CandidateTrailing PartyMargin
Kakching37Yengkhom Surchandra SinghIndian National CongressM. Rameshwar Singh (Ramay)Bharatiya Janata Party630
Kangpokpi (Gen)50Nemcha KipgenBharatiya Janata PartyKharga TamangIndependent2297
Karong (St)47D.D. ThaisiiIndian National CongressR. Yuh Jonathan TaoBharatiya Janata Party4293
Keirao6Lourembam Rameshwor MeeteiBharatiya Janata PartyMd. Nasiruddin KhanIndependent538
Keishamthong12Langpoklakpam Jayantakumar SinghNational People's PartyLaisom Ibomcha SinghIndian National Congress3261
Khangabok35Surjakumar OkramIndian National CongressThokchom Jadumani SinghBharatiya Janata Party9452
Khundrakpam (Gen)1Thokchom Lokeshwar SinghIndian National CongressThangjam Mohendro SinghBharatiya Janata Party3059
Khurai (Gen)3Leishangthem Susindro MeiteiBharatiya Janata PartyDr. Ngairangbam Bijoy SinghIndian National Congress1944
Konthoujam18Dr. Sapam Ranjan SinghBharatiya Janata PartyKonthoujam Sharat SinghIndian National Congress2772
Kshetrigao4Nahakpam Indrajit SinghBharatiya Janata PartyMd. Amin ShahIndian National Congress380
Kumbi29Sanasam Bira SinghIndian National CongressNingthoujam MangiBharatiya Janata Party1311
Lamlai8Ksh. Biren SinghIndian National CongressKhongbantabam IbomchaBharatiya Janata Party852
Lamsang17Sorokhaibam Rajen SinghBharatiya Janata PartyWangkheimayum Brajabidhu SinghIndian National Congress1280
Langthabal20Karam ShyamLok Jan Shakti PartyO. Joy SinghBharatiya Janata Party2331
Lilong30Muhammad Abdul NasirIndian National CongressY. Antas KhanIndependent1268
Mao (St)48Losii DikhoNaga Peoples FrontWoba JoramBharatiya Janata Party15414
Mayang Imphal23Kongkham Robindro SinghBharatiya Janata PartyDr. Khumujam Ratankumar SinghIndian National Congress3094
Moirang27Pukhrem Sharatchandra SinghBharatiya Janata PartyMairembam Prithviraj SinghIndian National Congress375
Nambol24Nameirakpam Loken SinghIndian National CongressThounaojam ChaobaBharatiya Janata Party280
Naoriya Pakhanglakpa21Soibam Subhaschandra SinghBharatiya Janata PartyR.K. AnandIndian National Congress1615
Nungba (St)54GaikhangamIndian National CongressAdim PameiBharatiya Janata Party5147
Oinam25Laishram Radhakishore SinghBharatiya Janata PartyDr. Irengbam Ibohalbi SinghIndian National Congress843
Patsoi19Km. Ak. Mirabai DeviIndian National CongressSapam Kunjakeswor (Keba) SinghNorth East India Development Party114
Phungyar (St)43K. LeishiyoNaga Peoples FrontSomi AwungshiBharatiya Janata Party4778
Sagolband11Rajkumar Imo SinghIndian National CongressDr. Khwairakpam Loken SinghBharatiya Janata Party19
Saikot (St)59T. N. HaokipIndian National CongressPaokholal HaokipBharatiya Janata Party5101
Saikul (St)46Yamthong HaokipIndian National CongressChungkhokai DoungelNationalist Congress Party3261
Saitu (St)51Ngamthang HaokipIndian National CongressHaokholet KipgenBharatiya Janata Party3817
Sekmai16Heikham Dingo SinghBharatiya Janata PartyKhwairakpam Devendro SinghIndian National Congress2532
Singhat (St)60GinsuanhauIndian National CongressChinlunthangBharatiya Janata Party1162
Singjamei13Yumnam Khemchand SinghBharatiya Janata PartyIrengbam Hemochandra SinghIndian National Congress1834
Sugnu39Kangujam Ranjit SinghIndian National CongressYumnam Jiban SinghBharatiya Janata Party3133
Tadubi (St)49N. KayisiiNational People's PartyM. Francis NgajokpaBharatiya Janata Party1299
Tamei (St)52Awangbow NewmaiNaga Peoples FrontZ. Kikhonbou NewmaiBharatiya Janata Party747
Tamenglong (St)53Samuel Jendai KameiBharatiya Janata PartyJanghemlung PanmeiNaga Peoples Front2004
Tengnoupal (St)42D. KorungthangIndian National CongressYangkholet HaokipBharatiya Janata Party4656
Thanga28Tongbram Robindro SinghAll India Trinamool CongressMoirangthem Asnikumar SinghBharatiya Janata Party1005
Thangmeiband9Khumukcham Joykisan SinghIndian National CongressJyotin WaikhomBharatiya Janata Party157
Thanlon (St)56Vungzagin ValteBharatiya Janata PartyChinkholal ThangsingIndian National Congress7169
Thongju5Thongam Biswajit SinghBharatiya Janata PartyThokchom Ajit SinghIndian National Congress7301
Thoubal31Okram Ibobi SinghIndian National CongressLeitanthem Basanta SinghBharatiya Janata Party10470
Tipaimukh (St)55Dr. Chaltonlien AmoIndian National CongressDr. Lallukhum FimateBharatiya Janata Party626
Ukhrul (St)44Alfred Kanngam ArthurIndian National CongressSomatai ShaizaBharatiya Janata Party296
Uripok10Yumnam Joykumar SinghNational People's PartyLaishram Nandakumar SinghIndian National Congress345
Wabgai36Md. Fajur RahimIndian National CongressDr. Usham Deben SinghBharatiya Janata Party4761
Wangjing Tentha34Paonam Brojen SinghIndian National CongressMoirangthem HemantaBharatiya Janata Party1863
Wangkhei15Okram Henry SinghIndian National CongressYumkham Erabot SinghBharatiya Janata Party4336
Wangkhem32Keisham Meghachandra SinghIndian National CongressYumnam Nabachandra SinghNorth East India Development Party2880
Wangoi22Oinam Lukhoi SinghIndian National CongressKhuraijam Loken SinghNational People's Party36
Yaiskul14Thokchom Satyabrata SinghBharatiya Janata PartyElangbam Chand SinghIndian National Congress570

Party Seating 2017 Manipur

Published Date: Mar 11, 2017 09:17 pm | Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 09:23 pm

Also See