Maharashtra Assembly: 19 Opposition MLAs suspended until 31 Dec by speaker for disrupting budget speech

Four days after MLAs from Congress and NCP disrupted the reading of the Maharashtra state budget, speaker Haribhau Bagade has suspended 19 legislators till 31 December, 2017.

File image of Maharashtra Vidhan Bhavan.

While state finance minister Sudhir Mungantiwar was presenting his budget on 18 March, the opposition parties started disrupting his speech. They started unfurling banners, sloganeering, clapping and interrupting Mungantiwar, and preventing him from reading out his budget, described as "agriculture-centric".

According to a report on Zee News, the budget was planning to merge planned and non-planned expenditure from 2017-18. However, the opposition parties criticised the BJP government, demanding a complete farm loan waiver, terming the budget "directionless", and saying it would push the state into a financial crisis.

Leader of Opposition Radhakrishna Vikhe-Patil was quoted in the report as saying, "(The budget is) a fraud on the farmers with mere carrots on the issue of farm loans waiver, which has shattered the dreams of the land tillers in the state."

The speaker has taken a dim view of these acts, however, and has said the 19 MLAs — 10 from NCP and nine from the Congress — will be suspended with immediate effect. This means they would not be part of the ongoing budget session of state legislature, and will also miss the next two assembly sessions.

Considering the strength of Congress and NCP in the 288-member Assembly is only 42 and 41 respectively, the suspension of these 19 MLAs will severely impact the two parties and will leave them unable to muster enough numbers in the House.

Here's a full list of the suspended MLAs:

Amar KaleCongressArvi (Wardha)
Bhaskar JadhavNCPGuhagar (Ratnagiri)
Vijay WadettiwarCongressBrahmapuri (Chandrapur)
Jitendra AwhadNCPMumbra-Kalwa
Harshawardhan SakpalCongressBuldhana
Madhusudhan KendreNCPGangakhed (Parbhani)
Abdul SattarCongressSillod (Aurangabad)
Sangam JagtapNCPAhmednagar
Avadhut TatkareNCPShrivardhan (Raigad)
DP SawantCongressNanded North
Sangram ThopateCongressBhor (Pune)
Ameet ZanakCongressRisod (washim)
Kunal PatilCongressDhule Rural
Deepak ChavanNCPPhaltan
Rahul JagtapNCPIndapur (Pune)
Narhari CirwalNCPDindori (Nashik)
Vaibhav PichadNCPAkole
Jaykumar GoreCongressMan (Satara)
Datta BharaneNCPIndapur (Pune)

Published Date: Mar 22, 2017 12:23 pm | Updated Date: Mar 22, 2017 12:33 pm

Also See