Goa Election Results 2017: Here's how the key candidates fared in the state polls

The month-long suspense over the results is finally over in Goa. Many key players were in the fray for the 4 February polls. While the incumbent chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar was fighting for his fourth consecutive victory from Mandrem, senior Cabinet minister Rajendra Arlekar was seeking a re-election from Pernem.

File image of Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar. PTI

File image of Goa CM Laxmikant Parsekar. PTI

Senior BJP leaders Francisco D'Souza and tourism minister Dilip Parulekar faced their electoral test in Mapusa and Saligao respectively.

It was a do or die battle for the Dhavlikar brothers-led Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) as they sought a re-election from Marceim (Sudin) and Priol (Madhav).

Senior Congress leaders were also in the fray, including three former chief ministers Digambar Kamat (Margao), Pratapsingh Rane (Poriem) and Ravi Naik (Ponda).

Meanwhile, debutant Aam Aadmi Party's chief ministerial candidate Elvis Gomes was facing his first electoral battle in Cuncolim.

Here is how some of the key candidates fared in their respective seats:

BJP Laxmikant ParsekarMandrem Lost
BJPRajendra ArlekarPernemLost
BJPFranciso D'SouzaMapusa Won
BJPDilip ParulekarSaligao Lost
BJPMilind Sagun NaikMormugaoWon
BJPMauvin Heliodoro GodinhoDabolim Won
BJPAlina SaldanhaCortalimWon
BJPSubhash Alias Rajan K. NaikCuncolim Lost
INCNilkanth Ramnath HalarnkarTivim Won
INC Pratapsingh R RanePoriem Won
INCVishwajit Pratapsingh RaneValpoiWon
INCRavi Sitaram NaikPonda Won
INCDigambar Vasant KamatMargao Won
INC Luizinho FaleiroNavelimWon
NCPChurchill AlemaoBenaulimWon
MGPPandurang Alias Deepak Madhav DhavalikarPriol Lost
MGPRamkrishna Alias Sudin DhavalikarMarcaimWon
AAPDevendra Krishnaji Prabhu Parsekar DesaiMandrem Lost
AAP Elvis GomesCuncolim Lost
AAPSandesh TelekarCanacona Lost
AAPGiovanni Karl VazMormugao Lost
AAPValmiki NaikPanaji Lost
AAPOlencio SimoesCortalim Lost
AAPSantosh RaiturkarMargao Lost

In the 2012 election, the BJP in alliance with Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) had won comfortably by defeating the Congress in 24 out of 40 seats. BJP won 21 seats while the MGP won three seats. The Congress won nine seats with NCP. BJP MLA Frances D Souza won with maximum margin of votes. Goa Vikas Party and Independents managed two and five seats respectively.

The exit polls that came out on 9 March had predicted that the ruling BJP may end up forming the government for the second consecutive time.

For live updates on Goa election results here.

Published Date: Mar 11, 2017 03:25 pm | Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 03:27 pm

Also See