Election 2017: Schedule for Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand polls

The high-stakes assembly elections Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases between February 11 and March 8, while Punjab and Goa will go to polls together on February 4, Uttarakhand on February 15 and Manipur in two phases on 4 and 8 March, with counting to be held on 11 March.

While polling will be spread over seven phases in Uttar Pradesh, it will be a one-day affair in Uttarakhand, Punjab and Goa, and a two-day exercise in Manipur, the Election Commission announced on Wednesday setting in process the mega political exercise in the new year.

The Chief Election Commissioner Nasim Zaidi said over 16 crore people will participate in these polls for a total of 690 constituencies in five states, for which the Commission has set up 1.85 lakh polling stations, which are 15 percent more than those set up in 2012 polls.

The CEC flanked by the two Election Commissioners AK Joti and OP Rawat announced that the poll process will commence with the issue of notification on 11 January for Punjab and Goa polls where candidates can start filing their nominations.

Here is the detailed schedule for all the five states












Published Date: Jan 04, 2017 21:50 PM | Updated Date: Jan 04, 2017 21:50 PM