In association with

Delhi, Goa, Andhra Pradesh to hold Assembly bypolls for four seats on 23 August

New Delhi: The Election Commission (EC) on Thursday announced bypolls to four assembly seats, including Panaji, from where Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar is likely to contest.

The by-elections in Bawana (Delhi), Panaji and Valpoi (Goa) and Nandyal (Andhra Pradesh) will be held on 23 August.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

The notification for the by-elections would be issued on 29 July, Saturday, beginning the nomination process.

While 5 August is the last date of filing nominations, 9 August is the last date of withdrawing from the electoral battle, an EC statement said.

The counting will take place on 28 August.

The Bawana seat was vacated after AAP MLA Ved Prakash had resigned to join the BJP.

Parrikar had represented the Panaji assembly seat in the Goa assembly till he was appointed defence minister in the Modi government.

With Parrikar becoming the chief minister again after the recent assembly polls, he should become a MLA within six months of taking oath.

Siddharth Kuncalienkar (BJP) had recently resigned from the Panaji seat to make way for Parrikar's election as MLA. Parrikar continues to be a Rajya Sabha member.

The bypoll to Valpoi seat in Goa was necessitated after sitting Congress MLA Vishwajeet Rane had resigned to join the BJP.

The bypoll to the Nandyal seat is taking place as the sitting MLA from TDP had passed away following a cardiac arrest.

Published Date: Jul 27, 2017 17:13 PM | Updated Date: Jul 27, 2017 17:13 PM

Also See