Uttarakhand Assembly polls: Congress workers vandalise party office, raise slogans against Harish Rawat

Dehradun: Hundreds of Congress workers and supporters went on the rampage at the party headquarters in Dehradun after the names of 63 poll candidates were announced on Sunday.

They were angry at the distribution of poll tickets.

The workers threw chairs, broke furniture, tore off posters and raised slogans against Uttarakhand Pradesh Congress Committee Chief Kishore Upadhyaya and Chief Minister Harish Rawat.

Harish Rawat. PTI

Harish Rawat. PTI

In the list released earlier, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat was announced as contestant from Kiccha and Haridwar (Rural) while T.P.S. Rawat will contest from Lansdown and Surendra Singh Negi from Kotdwar.

The party has fielded Mantri Prasad Naithani from Deoprayag while Laxmi Rana will contest from Rudraprayag.

Raj Kumar will contest from Rajpur Road and Suryakant Dhamana will be party's candidate from Dehradun Cantt.

In Mussourie, Godavri Thapli will be the Congress candidate

The party has fielded Rajpal Kharola from Rishikesh, Dinesh Agarwal from Dharampur and Nav Prabhat from Vikasnagar.

Published Date: Jan 22, 2017 18:30 PM | Updated Date: Jan 22, 2017 18:30 PM

Also See