In association with

Congress releases second list of candidates for Gujarat polls, replaces four leaders with new nominees

New Delhi: The Congress on Monday released its second list of 9 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly polls.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

The party also replaced four candidates on the list announced on Sunday with four new nominees.

Bhikhabhai Joshi replaces Amit Thummar in Junagadh, Jaish Patel replaces Kiran Thakor in Bharuch, Ashok Jirawala will contest from Kamrej in place of Nilesh Kumbani and Dhirubhai Gajera is the new candidate for the Varachha Road seat in place of Prafulbhai C Togadiya.

The nine other candidates are: Pradyumansinh Jadeja from Abdasa seat, Aadam B Chaki from Bhuj, Santok Arethiya from Rapar and Mithul Donga from Rajkot East.

Dinesh Chovatiya from Rajkot South, Jiwan Kumbharvadia from Jamnagar North, Ashok Lal from Jamnagar South, Vikram Madam from Khambhalia and Meraman Goriya from Dwarka seat.

The polling for the two-phase elections for the 182 seats will be held on 9 and 14 December. The counting of votes will be held on 18 December.

The party had on Sunday released its first list of 77 candidates for the first phase of the polls.

Published Date: Nov 21, 2017 13:44 PM | Updated Date: Nov 24, 2017 15:23 PM

Also See