In association with

Assam poll 2016: Congress releases second list of candidates

Guwahati: The Congress on Monday released the second list of candidates for 57 constituencies which will go to the poll on 11 April.

Getting battle ready. PTI

Getting battle ready. PTI

Releasing the list, Assam Pradesh Congress Committee president Anjan Dutta said the party was hopeful of winning most of the seats in the second phase of the upcoming Assam Assembly election.

Some of the prominent persons getting tickets include Agriculture Minister Rakibul Hussain from Samaguri, Health
Minister Nazrul Islam from Laharighat, Minorities Minister Sukur Ali Ahmed from Chenga and Water Resources Minister
Basanta Das from Mangaldoi.

Also, former ministers Ardhendu Kumar Dey from Hojai, Nilamani Sen Deka from Dharmapur and Akon Bora from Dispur
received tickets from Congress.

Interestingly, Bora filed his nomination this afternoon, much before release of the candidates' list by the party.

For the 126 Assembly constituencies, polling will take place on 4 and 11 April, while counting will be done on 19 May.

While the last date for filing of nomination will be on 22 March, the last date for withdrawing the same will be on 26 March.


Published Date: Mar 21, 2016 22:36 PM | Updated Date: Mar 21, 2016 22:36 PM

Also See